Let’s get this big girl off her whiny soapbox and juicing is a pain in the butt

Good morning and happy Thursday!

Yesterday was a great work day! It was super productive and went by rather quick. I went by the Plant City office for a couple hours, and then spent the remainder of my day in South Tampa. I had a great brainstorming session over lunch with a recent new hire for our marketing department. We went to Red Elephant Cafe (which is quickly becoming a new favorite of mine) and I had the veggie wrap with a small cup of fruit on the side.

Veggie wrap and fruit cup at Red Elephant
Veggie wrap and fruit cup at Red Elephant

Lunch was very tasty, but it didn’t fill me up as much as I would have liked. I wasn’t feeling all that well leading up to 5; I left right at 5 and on the way home got hit with a hunger headache. I grabbed an avocado and clementine as soon as I walked in the door and got to work on what I really wanted… a fresh juice.

This is the point where I step on my whiny soapbox.

Juicing is a pain in my butt and can really piss me off! Seriously…it takes a good 30 minutes to get everything prepped, juiced, and cleaned up. I overloaded the juicer today so I had a gross mess to clean up. Like really gross! By time I got that mess cleaned up I just wasn’t feeling it anymore. The taste was fine it just had a bite to it that didn’t hit the spot, so… I threw in the towel. 😦

Today’s juice recipe…

What you’ll need

  • 2 handfuls baby carrots
  • 4 celery stalks
  • 1 large bunch kale
  • 5 plums
  • 2 oranges
  • 1 sweet potato
  • 1 apple
  • 1 lemon

Directions

  • Juice all ingredients
  • Pour through sifter to remove clumps
  • And, enjoy!
This looks delicious...
This looks delicious…
This does not!
This does not!

I spent the rest of my night decompressing with some Friends (episodes), and nibbling on some fruit and veggies.

Questions of the day

Does juicing ever frustrate you?

Do you drink any bottled juices?

—I may try this again for my breakfasts during the work week, and leave the more time-consuming juicing process to the weekend.

Anyone else get on their whiny soapbox today?

10 thoughts on “Let’s get this big girl off her whiny soapbox and juicing is a pain in the butt

    • It is a hassle that’s for sure, but every once in awhile you throw something together that comes out so well, it makes the whole process seem worth it.

      The Boy and I have a friend that has celiac disease, so we’ve seen firsthand some of the struggles you’re forced to deal with. It really sucks! 😦 How long ago were you diagnosed?

      Like

  1. I’m SO intrigued by juicing, and I love looking at recipes for it. Your picture of the raw ingredients looks amazing! All those nutrients!!! But I don’t have the right equipment, or the motivation to invest the time or money into doing it myself. I make green smoothies pretty frequently, and I think sticking with whole fruits and veggies works ok for me. Any thoughts on Jamba Juice’s products? I drink juice from there occasionally, never 100% sure that it’s truly as healthy a they claim it is.

    Like

    • Hmm…I haven’t had Jamba Juice since high school! I used to love that place, but that was years ago. I don’t have one by me now, so I can’t say too much in regards to their menu. Depending on ingredients used and the smoothie itself, I feel sugar can probably be on the high side. In terms of juice I always try to stick to a 2/3 veggie to 1/3 fruit ratio.

      Thank you for reading! 🙂

      Like

  2. I want to try juicing but frankly…I am LAZY!!! I think it would be great in the morning or post run, but my lazy butt won’t do it!! They need to have one in the Tampa Bay area (preferrably by me) that juices for me! I would PAY for it…..
    Do we have one in the area???

    Like

    • There’s a place in Hyde Park that does it. I’m far too cheap to ever even consider paying what they charge so I haven’t bothered to look up the name of the place. 🙂 I’m thinking of more so like the Naked and Suja lines that can be found in grocery stores. I think I’m gonna have to swing by Publix to try ’em.

      Like

      • I’ve had Naked juice but I used to only buy them when they were on sale…because I’m not only lazy but CHEAP! I read in the Ledger (since I work in Polk County) there’s a juice bar opening in Lakeland in May on S. Florida (since I see you work sometimes in PC)

        Like

Leave a comment