Hectic moving day and crazy mom stories

Good morning and happy Wednesday!

Yesterday was a hectic day- not a bad day at all, just crazy.

We have been in the process of moving the “corporate” team in Plant City (this includes me as well) to a new office suite in the same office park as our main office. Our IT department has been getting stuff set up over there and while I thought we would have been in the new space by now it’s just taken a little longer and I hadn’t heard of a new “move date.” So when I came in yesterday dressed all fancified in my new cute dress, Kevin our head IT guy was like, “hey it’s moving day!”

My day got very sweaty very quick-after a couple hours I realized that- oh gosh- I have my gym clothes in the car, so I quickly threw those on and just left them on for the entirety of the day- talk about comfy. 😉 Moving day doesn’t bother me, granted I’ve certainly had the opportunity to get used to it both growing up as an Army brat and just the way the company has experienced so much growth since I started. This is my sixth office move with the company in the three years I’ve been working here- it’s nothing bad we just grow out of our space. It’s a good problem to have! Yeah, so moving day isn’t bad; I kind of enjoy it actually. What I don’t like is how I am then away from my computer and email all day, so now I have lots and lots to catch up on.

I had to rush through lunch as I needed to get back to moving so that we could try and wrap the project up that day. I made a quick salad with romaine lettuce, croutons, fried onions, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese with some mango salsa on top-nothing fancy but certainly tasty!

Lunch salad! cherry tomatoes, feta cheese, croutons, fried onions, and mango salsa atop romaine lettuce.
Lunch salad! cherry tomatoes, feta cheese, croutons, fried onions, and mango salsa atop romaine lettuce.

I didn’t leave the office too terribly late (5:30-ish) and then headed over to my parents house as my mom and I had plans. Mom and I ended up meeting Bubba and his girlfriend at Chili’s for dinner. I had one margarita and mango-chile tilapia. I wasn’t too crazy about the dish. I actually think it would be 100 times better with Costco’s mango salsa. 😉

My brother's idea of "healthy diet food"...
My brother’s idea of “healthy diet food”…
One watered-down margarita coming up...
One watered-down margarita coming up…
Mango-chile tilapia with rice and broccoli.
Mango-chile tilapia with rice and broccoli.

After dinner, mom and I headed over to the mall where I got a couple new pairs of Under Armour running shorts at Dick’s (these in black).

I’d like to share a few fun things I learned about my mom tonight…

She does not feel it important to tell me when my blog posts have spelling errors in them. She figured since the post was up there’s nothing I could do about it. Oh mom! (With that said, I apologize for any spelling/punctuation/grammar errors that have or will be in my blog posts-I do reread them prior to publishing- I guess I just need to reevaluate the process in which I do so.)

My mom ordered a white latte at Starbucks when what she really wanted was a caramel Frapuccino. After she ordered (and paid, mind you) that’s when it clicked. Luckily the Starbucks Barista was very nice and allowed her craziness to slide.

We saw a lifted and tricked out Chevy Camaro as we were leaving the mall and my mom in all seriousness says, “whoa that’s a sweet ride!” She is one crazy crazy girl!

Questions of the day

Do you have a crazy mom too?

How was your work day?

9 thoughts on “Hectic moving day and crazy mom stories

  1. Wow, not only is your Mom crazy but she is also: sweet, awesome, terrific, fantastic, nice, smart, briliant, super, thin, cool etc.

    Like

  2. haha. your mom sounds so funny.!
    that’s crazy how many times your work has moved.! but I know how that can be. My work moved just a month ago. We had to move our moving date back a couple of time. I work at a car dealership, so lottsss of back and forth involved. Had to move all of the cars of course.
    Yummy food.! Have a great day 🙂

    Like

    • Oh boy! Moving an entire office (especially a car dealership) is tough tough work! The moves I’ve had to make at work are mostly just a few of us (that don’t deal with clients face-to-face everyday) just getting a new place to sit. The couple times that we have had to move entire offices has been a project that’s for sure, so I feel your pain. 🙂

      And yeah… I guess she is pretty funny! Haha!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

