A little share from my Facebook Profile

I shared this little life update on Facebook today:

For those of you that don’t know, I have been dealing with an injury that has kept me sidelined from running for the past five weeks. I had my followup appointment today and was hoping to receive better news. I’m looking at another four weeks off; at that point, I can start using the elliptical and SLOWLY build up on the treadmill (a couple minutes at a time).

I’m trying my hardest to keep my head up. I know I have so much to be grateful for in my life- food on my table, clothes on my back, a job I love, amazing family and friends that support and encourage me- and I know there are so many others out there struggling just to make it through the day.

However, on that note, I must announce I will not be able to participate in the Rock ‘N Roll Vegas full marathon. This was set to be my third marathon, and my first time running as a charity runner (for St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital).

When I registered to be a charity runner, I was nervous and a little scared. There are so many fundraising organizations, and I know it can be overwhelming when people are coming at you from all sides asking for donations. And yet, you guys, MY AMAZING FRIENDS AND MY AMAZING FAMILY, have completely left me speechless. The outpouring and generosity I have received has been so incredible and so much more than I could have ever asked for, and for that, I thank you!

In an effort to honor all of those that have and continue to support me, I will be dropping down to the half marathon and will be walking as a St. Jude Hero.

And, mark my words, when I do get the all-clear to start training again, there will be some MAJOR GOAL CRUSHING!

#headupwingsout

If you’d like to contribute to my fundraising efforts for St. Jude, you can do so by visiting: http://heroes.stjude.org/amanb. Together we can make a difference!

Leave a Reply

