Reflection on burnout: an open letter

It’s been awhile (again)… I know!

With one of my last updates I talked about some concerns/issues I was having training for the Daytona 100 50-miler Ultra. Call it a cry of help; call it a release. Whatever it was, that post helped me find my way.

It still took some time, but I’m back.

I have decided that 2016 will not be the year I became an ultrarunner. And you know what? I’m okay with that.

My heart just wasn’t in it- among other things.

But, if not that, then what…?

What would make me happy? What would make me excited to train for? To want to put in the hard work for?

And, that’s when it hit me… Rock ‘N Roll Vegas!

Registering for the race took some time. There was a lot of “what if” standing in the way and holding me back. Until I decided to do something bigger than myself…

The official charity partner of Rock ‘N Roll race series is St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. For years, I have been a huge fan of St Jude and what they stand for. And like that, something clicked.

I will be running Rock ‘N Roll Vegas on November 13, 2016 as a St Jude Hero, and I could not be more thrilled to do so.

fb-cover-2015

AND! If that wasn’t exciting enough! This week kicks off Fit2Run’s first-ever Galloway Run/Walk Training Program, and guess who will be a group leader… Yours truly! 🙂

I am a HUGE proponent of the Galloway Method, and when I saw Fit2Run would be hosting the program, I was beyond stoked. To be approached to be a group leader was just the icing on the cake. To give back to something that has given me so much, it’s a no-brainer!

I may have burned myself out, and been in a bit of a funk, but I’M BACK!!! And it feels good to be back!

Happy running!

If you’d like to contribute to my fundraising efforts for St. Jude, you can do so by clicking here. Together we can make a difference!

One thought on “Reflection on burnout: an open letter

  1. I was wondering where you have been!!!

    It is really OK to realize that the Ultra wasn’t for you!! But the beautiful thing about running….you can always find something that is!!

    OH…BTW…Star Wars registration begins TOMORROW!! Maybe THEN we could finally meet!! LOL

    Hang in there!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

