Running MAYhem Recap

Throughout the month of May, I had a ton of fun participating in Fit2Run’s Running MAYhem social media photo contest, so much so, that I thought I’d recap all the fun and excitement here.

Day 1- Sunrise: Not quite a sunrise run, but still just as beautiful. 12 miles logged, now let’s get this lazy Sunday started.

IMG_0184

Day 2- Music Monday: After a Monday that just would not quit, it’s time to LET IT GO! Running and yoga fix all things!

IMG_0185

Day 3- Teacher Appreciation Day: She may not be a teacher, but she’s the smartest woman in my life, a great role model, and she taught me everything I know. In fact, she’s the reason why I run. Love my mom- my first and foremost teacher!

IMG_0186

Day 4- May The Fourth Be With You: May the Fourth be with you! Happy #starwars day!

IMG_0187

Day 5- Cinco de Mayo: Instead of crushing tequila shots, I crushed 400m repeats! Happy Cinco De Mayo! 6 x 400m repeats with a 2:00 rest in between. The wind was definitely a force to be reckoned with. And yet… Boom! 🙌🏻

IMG_0188

Day 6- RUNFIE: #flashbackfriday to that time I #runfie‘d with @bartyasso!

IMG_0189

Day 7- Cheers National Homebrew Day: CHEERS to a great@girlsontheruninternational 5k! We had a blast manning the finish line food station. Woot! Woot! Congrats to all the girls who have worked so hard the last ten weeks.

IMG_0190

Day 8- Mother’s Day: On this Mother’s Day and #runningMAYhem day 8, I sit here and reflect on my biggest cheerleader, my mom. The greatest mom a girl could ask for. A mom so great, she (along with dad) flew in the morning of my second (full) marathon, rented a car, drove 45 minutes, and made it just in time to snap this photo seconds before I crossed the finish line. Happy Mother’s Day mom! I love you!

IMG_0192

Day 9- Medal Monday: Happy Medal Monday!

IMG_0193

Day 10- Double Trouble: You know you’re in for double the fun- or double the trouble- when you have to pull out both…

IMG_0194

Day 11- Favorite Post Run Meal: Favorite post run meal…? Why… Waffle House, of course! Yum!

IMG_0195

Day 12- Jump: Throwback Thursday to that time I JUMPED for cupcakes! Oh wait, that’s most days…

IMG_0196

Day 13- Spooky Friday: Flashback Friday to that time (yesterday) I ran up a mountain. Whoa! Talk about spooky…

IMG_0197

Day 14- Running besties: I am so beyond grateful for my running besties! In the short time I have known them, we have become family. Thank you @fit2run_tampa for giving me so much more than I could have ever hoped for!

IMG_0198

Day 15- Hanging out: Runners that run together, hangout together. Love my running buddies on and off the track/pavement!

IMG_0199

Day 16- Motivation Monday: “We should all start to live before we get too old. Fear is stupid. So are regrets.” -Marilyn Monroe. Definitely helps to put in perspective my#trainingforultra goal. 

Day 17- Like a rare flower: “The flower that blooms in adversity is the rarest and most beautiful of all.” 🌸 Training has its moments- the good, the bad, and certainly the ugly. 🌸 But, when you have the support and strength of family and friends rooting for you, it makes life that much sweeter. 🌸

IMG_0201

Day 18- Spring Cleaning: Spring cleaning? Nah, just some reminiscing! These shoes have brought me some good miles and some great memories. They all tell a story! That story may be that I’m a @brooksrunninggirl… 😜 And, of course, I can’t forget to welcome @newtonrunning to the bunch!

IMG_0202

Day 19- Favorite running gear: It’s #runningMAYhemday 19, and today’s theme is “favorite running gear”. As a modern-day runner, I have a lot of gear. But, the “gear” I am most thankful for, my most favorite “gear” are my own two feet. Everyday that I am able to be out there running, I am grateful that I am afforded the privilege to be able to do so. I try to find the joy in every run and not take it for granted because I know there are so many out there that can’t. And for that, thank you Feet, my most favorite running gear! 🙌🏻

Day 20- Fitness food Friday: New Food Friday post up on the blog! What are you eating today?

IMG_0204

Day 21- Adventuring: Talk about an adventure! I had an absolute incredible 14 mile solo long run this morning and could not help get lost in all of the beauty that surrounded me.

Day 22- Sunday Funday: Who’s excited for#sundayfunday?! I think Smokey is!


Day 23- Mental Mantra: When the going gets tough, you can often hear me repeating my mantra, YOU GOT THIS! No matter what you have going on, just remember that you are strong, and YOU got this!

Day 24- Furry friends: It’s Furry Friends#runningMAYhem day!! Whoop! Whoop! I’ve got two wild and crazy nieces and my Smokester, the one I never thought would become the “quiet” one. They don’t accompany me running, but they sure do make life sweeter. 💛🐾

Day 25- Hump Day 5k: I missed my hump day 5k, but for good reason. I’d like to send a big happy hump day birthday shoutout to my favorite redhead! 🎉 Happy birthday Bubba! 🎉

Day 26- Thirsty Thursday: On this #thirstythursdayI am grateful for my early birthday present- THE @yeti 30oz Rambler! 😍 My boyfriend rocks! Thanks for keeping me hydrated!

IMG_0182

Day 27- Fave running outfit: A good running outfit (i.e. a favorite running outfit) is one in which you feel good. When you feel good- and look good- the running just comes easier.#flashbackfriday to @gasparillatbr 2016 with my girl @milesplitmandy. Thanks to@fit2run_tampa @cepcompression@brooksrunning @nathansportsinc and@garminfitness for helping me look and feel my best!

Day 28- Running friends: Running friends make the best friends!

IMG_0180

Day 29- Run inspired: I’m a distance runner! Just a little RUNspiration for your Sunday night.

IMG_0179

Day 30- Red, white, & blue: I jump for joy and am proud to wear the red, white, and blue.

💙❤️

IMG_0178

Day 31- Sunset: I run for many reasons- I do it for those that can’t, I do it for it brings balance to my life, I do it because I find joy in it, I do it for there’s always a sense of the unknown. If I didn’t have this unshakable love for running, I’d miss out on all the beauty life has to offer. Take for instance, a sunset run after a hectic day. 💛

Happy running!

 

2 thoughts on “Running MAYhem Recap

Leave a Reply

