Weekend ReCUP

Happy Sunday!

All I wanted this weekend was a nice, quiet, relaxing weekend. And, I feel like I got one!

Let’s get to the ReCUP…

IMG_7585

Friday night

I needed to log some miles (5 to be exact), and didn’t want to do it late since my Saturday longrun was going to be early the next morning. So, as soon as I got home from work, the Boy and I headed over to the gym.

I’m sure you are all aware that I do not care for treadmill running UNLESS I am reading a great running-related book. And, the treadmill has to have a “shelf” at eye level for me to rest my Kindle. Well…

We get to the gym, I get everything situated, and go to turn on my Kindle when the dead battery indicator pops up. OMG! I wish I had a picture of the Boy’s face at that moment because he look terrified. 😉

I spent the next few minutes trying to find something to watch on the treadmill TV. Finally, I did. It’s still not the same for me, but I was able to get some miles in.

After I started running, it just didn’t feel right. I felt like my body was putting in more work and effort than it should have been for the (slow) pace I was running. I had to keep decreasing the speed to find comfort. I just wasn’t feeling it, at 3.7 miles I’d had enough.

We were starving by time we left the gym, and quickly headed home to make some tasty black bean burgers for dinner.

Photo Jan 22, 8 19 22 PM

I ended the night on a high note with some foam rolling and The Office!

Photo Jan 22, 9 05 49 PM

Saturday

Hello crappy weather! It was rainy, windy, and just plain cold. Had it not been for Mandy, I would have stayed in my bed and pushed it off another day.

The group run was out at Courtney Campbell Causeway Trail at the Ben T Davis Beach entrance. This was my first time running out there; it’s not a terribly favored spot among runners because the only bathroom is at the start and there are ZERO water stops along the trail. The view was amazing though!

Photo Jan 23, 7 35 00 AM

But, as soon as we started, we were asking ourselves “why?!”. The wind was horrible, and when the on again/off again rain was off, you could still feel the ocean water being sprayed on you. Oh, and the temp was in the mid-40’s (not including the wind chill).

At about 3 miles in you come to a pretty steep bridge, which normally I would find fun. But, today not so much! I was worried Mandy was going to blow away, so I grabbed her hand and didn’t let go. 🙂

At the end of the bridge, we decided to turn around and head back. We were just over 3.5 miles at that time (12 scheduled). 3.5 UGLY, SLOW miles. It was much nicer run on the way back, but that’s not saying much. With the wind at our backs, we could feel it propelling us forward. And, not in a good way. My IT Bands were having none of this!

It was at this time, that I attempted to take off my poncho (because of the rain). Thanks wind!

Photo Jan 23, 8 10 31 AM

After our valiant effort of a long run, we were ready for some post-run grub. IHOP was the most convenient option. I had all the coffee, and an all-you-can-eat pancake combo. Not meat-free, but super yummy!

Photo Jan 23, 9 30 33 AM

Later in the day, I went with my parents to Spring Hill to spend time with some family (some that live in FL, and some visiting from IL and CA). We met at Gator’s Dockside for a late lunch, and it was here that I finally realized how hard vegetarians have it when going out to eat.

Disclaimer: I am NOT a vegetarian. I am, however, working towards a meat-free lifestyle, in hopes of one day making the jump to a vegetarian lifestyle.

Everything on the menu had meat, asides from like a side caesar salad. I opted for the buffalo chicken wrap.

Photo Jan 23, 4 22 17 PM

Yes, I enjoyed the wrap, but it kind of upset me how few meat-free options there are. I LOVE going out to eat, but may have to rethink that the more I pursue meat-free options.

We left Spring Hill just in time to catch the Gasparilla parade fireworks from the interstate. That wasn’t planned, just coincidence.

The Boy and I had a relaxing evening in doing absolutely nothing. I just love that!

Sunday

I set no alarm clock, and slept in until 10:30. Once up, I made a big batch of quinoa with mixed berries to enjoy for breakfast today and the rest of the week. The recipe can be found here.

Photo Jan 24, 12 21 47 PM

And then I got ready to log some miles. I really wanted to hit a specific goal by the end of this week, and today was my last chance to do it.

I headed over to Bayshore for a nice 10-mile run. It did not start out well; I went out way too fast, and then was quickly paying for it. My left leg tightened up and I was worried I was going to have to give up. I was able to push through (thanks to a running buddy’s encouraging words), and knew if I could just make it to mile 4, I could do all 10. For some reason, my sweet spot is mile 4. That’s just when it starts to feel good!

I slowed my pace, put on a podcast (Thank you Running Lifestyle Podcast!!!), and just soaked in the beautiful scenery.

Photo Jan 24, 1 53 37 PM

Eventually the miles started to fly by, and before I knew it…

Photo Jan 24, 4 01 01 PM

I was done!

And, even more exciting, I reached my goal!

Photo Jan 24, 4 22 41 PM

100 miles done in January with a week still to go.

My Sunday night clearly calls for some recovery. Foam rolling, icing my knees, and elevating my legs. If you need me, I’ll be on the couch! 😉

Question of the day

What was the high and low of your weekend?

***Congrats to Heather @ SLO Lucky Runs for winning the signed Bill Rodgers book giveaway.***

Leave a Reply

