Vacation ReCUP: the delayed version and tips for cold-weather running

Happy Monday!

I’ve been bad, or busy, or both… I don’t know. 😉 I have a vacation recup AND a weekend recup to post.

Let’s get to the highlights of our PA vacation…

We were in Pennsylvania for one full week, and had a blast hanging out with the Boy’s friends from his college days, and spending quality time with his family.

Monday

We spent the day in Pittsburgh, and got there just in time for brunch. Meag took us to DeLuca’s down in the Strip District. It’s a very low-key diner that only accepts cash, but their menu is enormous and the food is delicious!

Photo Jan 11, 12 35 33 PM

I opted for the hotcake special. Very tasty and very filling!

Photo Jan 11, 12 54 39 PM

On the way back to the car we walked past a teeny-tiny little donut shop that looked way too cool to pass up. I had zero room left in my tummy, but couldn’t resist a couple gourmet donuts. Maple bacon and ginger sugar for the win!

Photo Jan 11, 1 21 32 PM

The next stop on our agenda was REI. I love REI. Always have. Always will. But, there are NONE to be found in Florida. Since suitcase space was limited, I had to behave and just picked up a couple small things.

We ran a few more errands, and just got to enjoy each others company.

Once Meag’s boyfriend got home from work, we all headed out to Burgatory for dinner. And, boy was it good!

Photo Jan 11, 6 55 50 PM

Pittsburgh is about an hour drive from where the Boy’s parents live, so by time we got back, I was far too sleepy to run. So I logged zero miles for Monday and was kind of bummed about that.

Tuesday

Be careful what you ask for! All I want every time we go to PA is some snow. Well, I finally got it! We woke up to this…

Photo Jan 12, 11 19 07 AM

Very pretty! But, not terribly good for running. I took my time getting ready because it initially didn’t look too bad, but by time I got outside, the snow was really coming down. I decided to run a small loop multiple times to get in my miles. The snow was really coming down and my tracks were covered by time I made the loop around. It just wasn’t working for me. I really didn’t want to fall. Obviously! 😉 Because of that, I really slowed my pace. I was running a 15:00 mile, and my form was all over the place because of the road conditions. They just weren’t quality miles, so I threw in the towel just over 2 miles. It wasn’t worth it to risk injury, getting sick (because of the cold and wind), etc.

I wasn’t happy, but I got out there and tried and that’s what counts.

Photo Jan 12, 2 49 40 PM

The rest of our Tuesday was spent rather lazily. Later that night, we went over to one of the Boy’s friends’ house and played some video games. I’m not a big video-gamer, but it was fun because I kept kicking their butts! 🙂

Photo Jan 12, 7 28 44 PM

I was starving by time we left, so we stopped at Eat ‘N Park, where I enjoyed a super tasty gardenburger with an egg on top.

Photo Jan 12, 10 33 22 PM

Wednesday

We spent the day in Pittsburgh again. We had a lot of fun getting acai bowls at Amazing Cafe. Such a cute cafe!

Photo Jan 13, 2 33 46 PM

 

Meag teaches spin and yoga (and just started her own blog, check it out here), and invited me to attend her hot yoga class following either spin or a 3-mile run with the Lululemon Run Club that meets up at the yoga studio.

I really didn’t want to risk getting behind on more of my miles, so running for me! I had 5 on the schedule for the day, so planned to head out for 2 prior to meeting up with the run club. As I was heading out, one of the girls yelled to me to say she wanted to join.

At first, the socially-awkward girl inside of me cringed at this idea (what if she’s too fast for me? what if she’s annoying? what if I’m annoying?), but then I remembered…we’re all runners here, and you know what, runners come in all sorts of shapes, sizes, and skill-level. What makes the running community so awesome is that we support one another and share a love and passion for running.

Her name is Toni, and looking back, I am so so happy she joined me. This run was a lot more than I had planned for. There was still snow on the ground, as well as ice. Talking with her helped to distract me from the frigid temps, and it was nice having a guide in an unfamiliar spot.

I felt great for those first two miles.

We made it back to the studio, and met up with the other girls that were willing to brave the cold and snow. And, then we were off…

I’m going to blame the Florida in me for the fact that I was way behind everyone else. It was icy, and I didn’t want to fall. 😉 It wasn’t until the last mile that things got brutal. My leg tightened up, and I lost all feeling in my toes.

I finished. I don’t know how, but I finished.

P.S. the Lululemon Run Club is a pretty awesome group of girls to run with. And also the best dressed run club I have EVER seen…

12548949_10206500009767182_454663391773551792_n

And then it was time for hot yoga. Have I told you how much I hate hot yoga?! I don’t like being hot. With that being said, it was a really great class and it was so awesome to see Meag in her element, doing what she loves.

Taking her class makes me want to get back into yoga (not hot yoga). That’s to be continued though…

Since our flight was the next morning, it made more sense for us to stay at Meag’s house. We headed back home, got in a good nights sleep, and that was it.

Before moving to Florida, I lived in Colorado for seven years. That’s actually where I consider “home”. But, it was on this trip to PA that I realized, I was never a runner there. The only running I ever did was recreationally at an indoor track, and that was maybe a mile here and there.

Now that I have had the chance to be a cold-weather runner, I: 1) have some tips to share, and 2) will no longer complain about the heat in Florida. I have year-round running weather, and for that I am very fortunate.

So, now I share with you…

10 Tips for Running in Cold Weather

  1. Hydrate. In the cold your body may not feel as thirsty as it would in the heat, but staying hydrated is important no matter where you live and run.
  2. Layer up. Running in a base layer top, a long sleeve shirt, and vest worked well for me.
  3. Wool socks. ‘Nuff said. I forgot mine and well, it just hurt!
  4. LINED tights or base layer tights under running tights.
  5. Mittens. Gloves keep your fingers separated allowing them to get cold on their own. Mittens keep your fingers together and toasty.
  6. NO toe socks. Same thing as the glove vs mitten debate.
  7. Cover your head and ears. Two thick headbands over my headphones worked well for me.
  8. Invest in a buff or balaclava. Prior to this PA trip, I had never used a Buff before, and now I cannot say enough good things about it. Get one! 🙂
  9. Shorten your stride. It will help you to avoid slipping/falling, and will make you more aware of the (road) conditions around you.
  10. Yaktrax. I can tell you, if cold-weather running was a regular thing for me, Yaktrax would be one of the first things I’d invest in.

Stay tuned for my weekend reCUP tomorrow and a GIVEAWAY!

Question of the day

What cold-weather running tips am I missing?

2 thoughts on “Vacation ReCUP: the delayed version and tips for cold-weather running

Leave a Reply

