Weekend ReCup

Happy Sunday!

I hope you all had a great weekend ringing in the new year.

hello2016

I’m so excited to see what 2016 has in store, but first we have a ReCUP to get to…

IMG_6413

Friday

Friday was Miss Boo’s last full day here so we tried to make the most of our time together.

Since Boo left for the Navy, she has gotten into indoor rock climbing during her off-time. So, she was really looking forward to hitting up Vertical Ventures in Tampa.

We met up early afternoon for some climbing fun! I don’t too well with heights, so I certainly wasn’t the best climber in the group.

I will give climbing credit for being a pretty killer workout. I was sweating my bum off!

We then cooled down with a refreshing smoothie from Xtreme Juice. So yummy!

I had barely enough time to get in my speedwork session that I wasn’t able to the night before, so I stopped by Bayshore and did 4 x 800m after my one-mile warm-up. Since I wasn’t at my normal spot, I tried to track the distance using an alert on my watch and unfortunately screwed up my splits when I hit the lap button.

I know that I was around my normal 4:30 pace, but I don’t have the actual breakdown.

The Boy and I met up with my parents and Miss Boo for pizza at East Coast.

After saying our goodbyes to Boo, we headed home so I could get packed up for my early morning long run.

Saturday

You know you’re a runner when you’re waking up just as your night-owl boyfriend is getting to bed.

3:45 AM wake up call. Pretty brutal!

Mandy and I met at Fit2Run at 5:00 and then rode over to Coachman Park in Clearwater. Coach Kirsten had bridge repeats on everyones training schedules.

Photo Jan 02, 8 43 30 AM

There were two bridges and a total of six climbs. Thankfully it wasn’t too hot, which made for a beautiful long run.

Photo Jan 02, 8 59 18 AM

We ran a total of 10 miles; Don did his first-ever 15 miler (though his training schedule called for 14).

We were starved by time we finished and quickly made our way over to the Beach Shanty, a cute little beach diner. I went with the sampler platter and enjoyed every last bite.

Photo Jan 02, 10 03 46 AM

The remainder of my Saturday was spent shopping and running errands. And, then the Boy and I settled on Wok Chi for dinner.

Photo Jan 02, 6 32 12 PM

By time I sat down to relax, I had racked up over 16 miles worth of steps for the day. Needless to say, I slept like a baby last night… in my CEP compression sleeves, of course.

Sunday

Our Sunday was pretty relaxing, and even better it was finally a bit chilly out (like mid -50’s).

After meeting Kat for some Jeremiah’s…

Photo Jan 03, 1 57 44 PM

It was time for a grocery run. Why can’t grocery shopping be fun?

I’ll be relaxing for the remainder of my night, as I have a very busy week to prepare for.

Question of the day

What was the high and low of your weekend?

Leave a Reply

