Weekend ReCUP!

Happy Sunday!

I hope everyone had a nice long holiday weekend! I know I sure did!

We have lots to catch up on, so let’s get to the ReCUP…

IMG_6413

Christmas

My friend Kimmie gifted me this AWESOME Route 66 tin to commemorate my marathon. It’s awesome and will hold my medal perfectly!

Photo Dec 24, 10 44 46 AM

We spent Christmas-day at my parents house. Since we had a big dinner to make, we took the easy route for breakfast. Cinnamon rolls! I can’t remember the last time I had cinnamon rolls. So good!

Photo Dec 25, 11 38 11 AM

For dinner, I was in charge of the corn casserole. Mostly because it’s my speciality. By now most of you know the kitchen and cooking/baking completely stresses me out; corn casserole is one dish I can always count on to NOT mess up. I have included my recipe here for you:

Ingredients

  • 1/2 stick of butter, melted
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 (8.5 ounce) package Jiffy corn bread mix
  • 1 (15 ounce) can whole kernel corn, drained
  • 1 (14.75 ounce) can creamed corn
  • 1 cup sour cream

Directions

  1. Combine all ingredients in a large bowl
  2. Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes

Photo Dec 27, 6 59 59 PM

My dad is the coolest, and told my mom this year that he wanted to get us kids (my brother, sister, and myself) a toy for Christmas. I got a little Gravedigger remote controlled truck. How awesome is that?! Gravedigger has been my FAVORITE since I was like 5 years old.

Photo Dec 25, 12 34 52 PM

I must have been a good girl this year because Santa treated me very well! I’m such a run nerd and was sooo stoked to unwrap this…

Photo Dec 25, 9 14 09 PM

Christmas dessert = pumpkin cream pie from Yoder’s. Yes please!

Photo Dec 25, 8 21 00 PM

Saturday

My Saturday came and went in the blink of an eye. I failed as a blogger and took zero pictures from my Saturday, but in a nutshell…

Starbucks, errands, leg day at the gym, a fight with my microwave, a way-too-long nap, and Crazy Cafe with the family.

Sunday

Miss Boo (who has been crushing it this week attending both Wednesday and Thursday night training runs) agreed to accompany the gang and I for our weekend long run. We (the girls) had 9 miles on the schedule (Don had 12); I felt pretty confident that Miss Boo could hang with us for 6 miles but wasn’t sure about 9, so I loaded my bike into my dad’s truck and brought that out to Flatwoods so that Miss Boo could just ride if/when she got tired of running.

I think I’m gonna have to change her name to “Miss Beast” because she hung with us the entire 9 miles.

Photo Dec 27, 6 43 53 PM

This was my first time running at Flatwoods. It’s a beautiful park and offers a fair amount of shade.

Photo Dec 27, 7 32 50 AM

Miss Boo really wanted to visit The Temple while in town and since she leaves Saturday, today was the only day (the market is only open on Sundays). After finishing our run, we rushed back to my parents house, got ready, and headed over.

It was pretty busy, and the lines for the most popular items were not fun, but we got everything we wanted to taste.

Photo Dec 27, 7 48 48 PM

Mom and Boo (neither of which had ever been) really enjoyed the serenity and beauty of the temple.

Photo Dec 27, 12 48 36 PM

Photo Dec 27, 12 38 27 PM

And, now for some randomness from my Sunday…

Smokey pup  went to the groomers today! So fresh and so clean!

Photo Dec 27, 5 02 45 PM

This was interesting to see walk past our back porch…

Photo Dec 27, 2 16 27 PM

And, I put my Fit2Run gift cards to good use… So excited for these!

Photo Dec 27, 7 56 18 PM

Have a great rest of your Sunday night!

Question of the day

What was the high and low of your weekend?

Leave a Reply

