Merry Christmas and some awesome speedwork training

Good morning and happy Friday!

And…Merry Christmas!

merry-christmas

We’ll be going over to my parents house to spend the holiday with them. My baby sister flew in Wednesday and will be here for the next week and a half. So excited to spend time with her!

My family came out for the Ugly Sweater Fun Run on Wednesday. And, even dad was feeling a bit festive.

485115_693786390365_334806868369809917_n

I still don’t understand it, but Florida has yet to get the memo that it is December and Santa does not like to travel where it is warm.

It was a HOT run!

I spent my Christmas Eve finishing up some last minute shopping, and then met some of the training group out at Fit2Run for speedwork.

Our normal speedwork session was cancelled because the mall was closing early, but Coach Kirsten still wanted everyone to get in their mile repeats.

She’s out of town for the holiday, but I think she’ll be proud of our dedication. Coach Greg was nice enough to volunteer his time to run with us.

It was a lot of fun! But, boy was it hot. I had 2 x 1 mile repeats on the schedule. Last month I crushed my goals, and was hoping to do that once again.

And, I did. My first mile was 8:51, and my second was 9:06. Boom! It was humid, and muggy, and all-around hot, but it felt good. I didn’t know I could run a mile in under 9 minutes! Love seeing little bits of improvement.

12376525_693864888055_4427890488010857236_n

I then spent some much needed time with my foam roller.

I hope you all have a great holiday weekend!

Question of the day

What are you most looking forward to this weekend?

Leave a Reply

