The joy of running, finding a great running group, and speedwork Thursday!

6:53

On January 11, 2015 I completed the Walt Disney World Marathon in 6 hours and 53 minutes. Going into the race my only goal was to finish. I did that! Did I secretly have a time goal in mind? Of course I did. Did I reach it? No. Am I disappointed? Absolutely not!

unnamed

6:53

That is MY time!

I ran a marathon! I finished a marathon!

There is so much that played into my running an almost 7-hour marathon. I overtrained, didn’t fuel properly, hardly foam rolled, and I didn’t vary the type of training. But, I learned so much about myself running my 6:53. And, I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

I am now 24 days away from running my second marathon- Route 66 in Tulsa, OK. Once again, I just want to finish. I’m not going into it with a big time goal. Yes, I have a time goal, but if it doesn’t happen it won’t be the end of the world.

This training cycle, I’m training smart.

My running buddy, Lisa and I have been talking recently about how lucky we are to have found such a great training group.

Nobody is a time snob. Everyone is just so uplifting. The slower ones cheer on the faster ones; the faster ones cheer on the slower ones. We all just want to see everyone be the best runner they can be.

And, we all have one thing in common- a shared passion for running. It’s so nice to have a great group of people to relate to, that will appreciate all of your running quirks, and tidbits, and medals, and race shirts.

There’s so much joy in running when there isn’t any pressure. The person that thinks run/walking isn’t really running a marathon, or the person that thinks anything over a 9:00 per mile pace “isn’t really trying”. Those people just take the fun out of running, and you can’t let them get to you!

They say that runners are some of the nicest people you will ever meet. And, I believe that to be true!

On another note…

I had a great speedwork session this week. We had 400m on the schedule, and I was assigned to do 8. I felt great and strong; my splits were as follows:

  • 2:11
  • 2:01
  • 2:04
  • 2:00
  • 2:00
  • 1:53
  • 1:59
  • 1:50

I still need to work on consistency, but I am definitely proud of the improvement I am seeing.

Question of the day

What does the “joy of running” mean to you?

One thought on “The joy of running, finding a great running group, and speedwork Thursday!

Leave a Reply

