Weekend ReCUP!

Happy Sunday!

I hope you’ve been having a great weekend! I had a great weekend, but it just flew by.

Let’s get to the ReCUP…

Weekend ReCUP

Friday night

A few of my coworkers and I ran in the Go for the Glow 5k benefiting the Polk County Builders Association Foundation.

IMG_5379  

It was in Lakeland around the beautiful (and surprisingly hilly) Lake Hollingsworth.

IMG_5412

Going into the race, I had two goals in mind, but figured I’d have to pick one of two strategies to achieve one of the two. I either wanted to not walk at all, OR to come in at 30 minutes.

I didn’t think achieving both goals simultaneous was possible.

When I started, I felt good and strong. I noticed my pace was much faster than I normally run; I tried to pull back to not burn out, but I still kept up a pretty good pace.

Right around the 2 mile mark, I wanted to walk. I slowed my pace slightly to let the feeling pass. Before I knew it, I was rounding the corner, and the finish line was almost in sight.

I opened it up and gave it my all.

I finished in 30:44 and didn’t walk at all.

Fast as lightning
Fast as lightning

Getting first place in my age group was just the cherry on top!

IMG_5413

We went to Texas Roadhouse for some post-race grub. And it was delicious!

IMG_5386

Saturday

The Boy and I went into Tampa to do some shopping. Fit2Run was having an additional 50% off sale items. I picked up a pair of North Face shorts and a Lorna Jane sports bra.

We decided to grab lunch at the food court. I opted for a salad at Chipotle.

IMG_5396

I also got my hair trimmed. I just needed a trim, so we stopped by Great Clips. They were even having a $10 haircut sale!

For dinner, the Boy and I went to the Cheesecake Factory. There was definitely some cheesecake ordered…

IMG_5415

We spent the remainder of our night watching Avengers: Age of Ultron. It was pretty good and the action kept my attention.

Sunday

I was supposed to be up and ready to run by 6:00. I wasn’t feeling terribly well when I went to bed, and when my alarm went off at 4:30 I still wasn’t. I feel bad for bailing, but chose to stay in bed. I planned to just run later, but it just wasn’t my day, so we’ll just call it at I suck.

I spent much of the day prepping for the work event I have tomorrow. And tracking my friends/family at the Chicago Marathon.

Congratulations to all that raced hard this weekend! And a big congrats to Mandy, Emily, and Kristy for rocking the Windy City!

Question of the day

What was the high and low of your weekend?

4 thoughts on “Weekend ReCUP!

Leave a Reply

