Slow and steady speed work 

Good morning and happy Friday!

I am so looking forward to the weekend, but first…

Yesterday was a great day! I had a good day at work, and then went to the Thursday speed work session at Fit2Run and made my membership in their training program official. Woot! Woot! I’m excited and nervous all at the same time.

The workout for the night consisted of 4 x 800m repeats with a 3 minute rest in-between.

And, even though I know I’m a slower runner and sometimes get embarrassed by this…I’m going to share my splits because a 12:00 mile is the same distance as a 6:00 mile:

  • 4:30
  • 4:16
  • 4:32
  • 4:32

I was proud of maintaining a fairly consistent pace; that’s good for me! 🙂

After getting home from my training session, I grabbed an avocado and then jumped in the shower because it was so hot outside and I was not looking pretty. 😉

For some strange reason, I was craving an omelette for dinner. Spinach and a mixture of brie and cheddar cheese made for a very yummy dinner.

IMG_4187

I spent the remainder of my evening relaxing in compression sleeves. And yeah, I know you’re totally jealous of my Princess Belle socks! 😉

IMG_4188

Question of the day

What are you most looking forward to this weekend?

—a nice 9-miler for me

6 thoughts on “Slow and steady speed work 

  1. Dammmmnnnnn look at those 800s!!! IMPRESSIVE! Whyyyyy would you be embarrassed about sharing your paces!?!?! I love reading that stuff – and like you said, a 6:00 and 12:00 are the same distance! Besides, last time I checked none of us were winning Olympic medals – but I love reading about people’s progress! So motivating and inspiring. You rock, keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

