Smoothies: Back to it!

Good morning and happy Thursday!

I can’t believe it’s almost Friday. This week has been flying! Or, maybe it’s just me.

Yesterday was a great day, and it finally seems as though the rain is stopping. Yay!

For lunch I whipped up a pretty amazing salad. And even though I forgot to pack salad dressing, it was good. This one here included: romaine, tomatoes, white onions, red onions, feta cheese, chia seeds, a hickory smoked tuna packet, salt, and a packet of Pizza Hut three-cheese blend I found in the office (because that’s how I roll!).

IMG_4006

In terms of snackage, I’m pretty proud of myself. I was definitely craving some afternoon snacks but did not raid the chocolate stash. Instead, I opted for a KIND bar.

After work, I headed over to Fit2Run for the weekly 5k fun run. The weather was perfect. For some reason though my body and my mind were not synced up. My mind was totally in it. My body not so much.

Actually! To be perfectly honest (because that’s what I strive to do here), I’ve been struggling a bit with my training. I’m on week 4 and just not feeling strong. Yes, my diet still needs improvement, and yes, I need to work on regularly strength training, but that’s nothing new for me so what gives.

I was thinking about my training on my run last night. Training to be a stronger, faster runner. I have big goals, and in order to reach them I need to focus and really buckle down. Fit2Run offers training programs, and I was talking with the girl that’s in charge of them after I finished my run. It seems like they structure it really well and the cost seems reasonable. They allow you to try it out for a week at no cost, so I’m thinking I may attend tonight’s session.

I’m more a solo-type person, but for some reason the thought of the training program has me really excited. So, we shall see…

On the way home, I stopped to do a little shopping. I found 3 running tanks at Nordstrom Rack and picked up a new blender at Best Buy.

IMG_4010

My NutriBullet has been giving me issues, so I got this one until I can figure out if my Bullet is still under warranty.

My dinner (aka smoothie) was made with: ice, water, organic baby spinach, a handful of frozen raspberries, two handfuls of frozen blueberries, chia seeds, and a packet of Vitamin Shoppe’s vanilla plant-based protein.

IMG_4017

The flavor is interesting! It’s not bad, but I wouldn’t call it great. I’m not sure if it’s the plant-based protein, the blueberries, or a combo of the two, but it has a rather bitter taste to it.

I then ended my night with some foam rolling.

Questions of the day

Have you ever paid for a training program?

What type of protein powder do you use?

—I usually use a whey protein from Costco, but am trying to branch out.

2 thoughts on “Smoothies: Back to it!

  1. I use the Publix Greenwise Whey protein – Vanilla flavored. Yum!!!

    On the runs- I feel you!! This summer has NOT been my best for running. So I essentially feel like I’m starting over!! I’ve been looking for a training program too! I just can’t make any group runs because of work and kids! But a solo training program would be the best for me!

    Good luck!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

