Weekend Recap

Happy Sunday!

I hope everyone has had a wonderful and relaxing weekend. I know mine has been great!

Friday night

After some quick Bachelorette-party shopping with a couple of the girls from work, the Boy and I had our regularly scheduled Friday Night Date Night to get to. We went to California Pizza Kitchen, and it was so yummy. I hadn’t been in there in years, and was so bummed to see my favorite Greek pizza had been removed from the menu. It was quite tragic! 😉 I went all out and ordered a half California Fields salad and a BBQ chicken pizza and washed it down with a Tito’s Vodka Arnold Palmer. Yes! I did order two entrees. And no! I did not finish the entire pizza.

IMG_2940

IMG_2941

IMG_2947

Saturday

We slept in and then spent a little time being lazy. We ran a couple errands before stopping by Zaxby’s for lunch. My tummy hadn’t been feeling so hot since breakfast; the blackened blue salad I got wasn’t sitting terribly well with me. I wasn’t even able to finish it. 😦

IMG_2951

After lunch we stopped by the produce stand and picked up a very random assortment onesie/twosie fruits, an abundance of tomatoes, zucchini, ginger, and giant/delicious watermelon… oh, and some boiled cajun peanuts. If you have yet to try boiled peanuts, you need to.

IMG_2954

We headed to the gym just before dinner time, and it was so pleasant how dead it was. The Boy and I did a killer chest and triceps workout. My chest seriously hurts today, and will probably continue to for the next few days.

My belly was still feeling a bit funny, so I was having a hard time deciding what to have for dinner- I just knew I didn’t want to eat out again. I googled some zucchini recipes, and found one that looked very simple yet tasty. In a gallon size baggie, I mixed one tablespoon balsamic vinegar, one teaspoon olive oil, some Italian seasoning, garlic powder, and a dash or two of salt and threw in one large quartered zucchini and shook it all up. I then placed the four zucchini pieces on a grill pan and cooked them on medium heat for about 4 minutes per side. I took the finished product and topped it with feta cheese, and placed it in the microwave for 10 seconds just to let it set. It was very yummy! Adapted from here.

IMG_2963

The Boy and I finished our night watching Big Hero 6 while I foam rolled. It was such a cute movie!

Sunday

I woke up early and started Day One of Yoga with Adrienne’s 30-Day Yoga Challenge. This Day One session was a perfect way to stretch out and ease into things.

I then enjoyed an avocado and the world’s most delicious plum for breakfast. I know. I know. It’s a weird combination, but it worked for me.

We met up with Mr. Chris at the gym for an awesome workout. After my morning yoga session, I surfed some blogs while enjoying my coffee, and found this to be very interesting. I wanted to incorporate a little of what I read into my workout. I started with a one-minute warmup on the treadmill, my normal stretching routine (with some slight variations), and then did some light incline intervals. After which, the three of us worked back and biceps. I’ll be the first to tell you, I have a hard time staying consistent with strength training, but I was proud of myself today- I kept up the weight and my form was spot on. 🙂

We met up with my family for Father’s Day dinner at dad’s favorite- East Coast Pizza.

Happy Father's Day to the best daddy!
Happy Father’s Day to the best daddy!

I ordered a large Greek salad hoping it would fill me up so I wouldn’t gorge myself on pizza. It actually worked out pretty well because I had one slice of pizza and it was hard for me to finish it.

IMG_3004

IMG_3005

And now…we plan on spending the remainder of our night with: 1) The Theory of Everything, 2) a big bowl of juicy watermelon, and 3) foam rolling!

And some randomness from my weekend…

This Triple Berry Oat smoothie from Tropical Smoothie Cafe was amazing…

IMG_2993

But, not as amazing as these little guys…

IMG_2989

And, I’m on a new quest to try all the Frappuccino flavors in mini form.

IMG_3013
Lemon bar frappuccino

Question of the day

What’s the most fun thing you did all weekend?

4 thoughts on “Weekend Recap

  1. Best thing all weekend = enjoying the rain and binge watching Netflix! What’s your favorite flavor so far … I’ve been hesitant to try some since I feel like they’d just be too over-the-top sugary!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t know if I can say I have a favorite at this point. Years ago, I used to always order the double chocolate chip (yeah, totally too sweet), and now I always order hot drinks. I only started back up with the Fraps because I think the minis are so cute. 😉
      So far I’ve done s’mores and the lemon bar; of the two, lemon bar wins.

      And, I totally love binge watching Netflix or reading when it’s raining!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

