Great start to the week and 5 thoughts about running

Good morning and happy Tuesday!

My week is off to great start! I had a great day at work yesterday, and mom seemed to be in much better spirits. 🙂

For lunch, I whipped up Salad Pool lunch. I didn’t have time to go to Costco over the weekend, so I picked up a bag of chopped romaine lettuce at Publix. This was so much easier! I was worried that it wasn’t going to be enough and I also didn’t think the spinach bag was as full as it was, so this salad had a lot more spinach than normal.  

This is normally okay for me, but when I went to scoop it out, I literally had nothing but greens on my plate.  

After work, I met the Boy at Costco for dinner and shopping.  

as you can see, our dinner was very healthy

Afterwards, the Boy took our groceries home and I went over to my parents house to check on mom. 

It seemed like yesterday was a much better day for her. Everyone has been so nice checking up on her through text and Facebook, and she has even received some very pretty flowers.  

My plan was to go running while at my parents house but the rain got in the way of that. 

Even though it was going on 10:00 and I still hadn’t been home all day, I was proud of myself for sticking to the plan by heading over to the gym.

I got in a GREAT 5 miles while reading Run by Dean Karnazes. The is my first Dean book, and I cannot say enough good things about it. I could run all night reading it! 😉 

 And, in honor of my 5 miles I thought I’d share 5 thoughts I had about running.

  1. Even the greats (such as Dean) have their off days
  2. New running clothes will always make you feel cute and confident (even if it is just a $7 tank from Walmart)
  3. The beauty of running lies in its surprise 
  4. Rain or shine, it is always there for you
  5. It will take you to new places, introduce you to new people, and always keep you learning.

Question of the day

What are some of your running thoughts?

11 thoughts on “Great start to the week and 5 thoughts about running

  1. Your salad looks very yummy 🙂 I kind of made one like that yesterday.
    ooohhh you’ll definitely have to do a book review once you finish it.!! and are you still listening to podcasts.?? well listen to the Rich Roll Podcast. one of them he features Dean, and another one he features Scott Jurek. It’s really interesting. Might be a little too vegan or plant based sometimes,
    Running thought : I love that I always feel better after a run than I did before one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awesome running thought! 🙂

      I will definitely be doing a review after I finish the book.

      And yeah, I’ve been listening to a handful of podcasts; when I first started I downloaded one or two of a BUNCH of different ones, and now I’ve narrowed it down to my few select favs.

      I’ll have to check out Rich Roll- that one sounds rather interesting.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I need to get on this creative salad making thing – yours always look so good!! Since you like food and are reading Dean’s book, you should check out my most favorite running book, Eat and Run by Scott Jurek. He’s an amazing guy!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

