Recap of a busy and fun weekend and a new smoothie recipe

Good morning and happy Tuesday!

We have lots to catch up on, so let’s get to it!

Friday night

My big surprise Friday was that Miss Boo came into town. She was planning to surprise my brother and I, but my mom turned the table on her and told us about a week in advance. We were all at the airport with our handmade signs in hand to greet her. She was shocked to see us! The last time I saw her was in November when she left for Basic.

Saturday

We kicked off our Boo-in-town festivities Saturday morning with some girl-time. But first, I needed to get in a run. I woke up early and headed out for a 3-miler. Because I was on a time crunch I ran around where we live. I hadn’t done that in almost two years; the last time I ran around our house there was snake and it freaked me out. There were no snakes this time, BUT there was a huge piece of snake skin on the side of the road. I’m talking huge! And I don’t mean long; I mean wide. Creepy! I think I’ll just stick to downtown.

Mom, Boo, and I met up to get pedicures and then did a little shopping.

I love that post-pedicure feel!

I picked up a couple dresses and some new running gear at Nordstrom Rack and some comfy shorts at Aerie

New clothes! Poor lighting! 😉

My brother’s birthday was yesterday; we went out for dinner Saturday night to celebrate. He chose Texas Roadhouse, and I could not have been more thrilled for that. It’s been forever since I was last there, and it is definitely one of my all-time favorites. Their honey butter and rolls are to die for and since I never go to Texas Roadhouse anymore, I went all out and got a half-slab of ribs for dinner. Yummy!

And, it wouldn’t be a birthday dinner without a little embarrassment.

Sunday

At Miss Boo’s request, we went to TopGolf Sunday morning. It was very warm and not terribly comfortable, but she had fun and that’s all that mattered.

Afterwards, mom, Boo, and I went down to Tampa for our Sunday buy-one-get-one-FREE smoothies at Xtreme Juice, and then we stopped by my brother’s girlfriend’s apartment to visit before heading over to MacDill Air Force Base.

There’s a lot happening here! The bunny wasn’t feeling me, and the pup scared me. 😉

One the way home, we stopped for mini frappuccinos. I didn’t even know Starbucks had mini frappuccinos! I opted for the smores flavor, and I won’t do that agin. It was a bit rich for my tastes.

After a much-needed nap with the Boy, we made our way back over to my parents house for dinner. Bubba and Megan were there, with a little surprise guest. Poor thing was forced to get in the pool. It was so cute though! 🙂

The Boy and I made the most of our Sunday night and enjoyed a killer two-hour long workout. We did bicep/tricep super sets and abs, which I then followed up with a quick mile on the treadmill and 22 flights of stairs on the Stairmaster. I can’t remember the last time I was on a Stairmaster and I thought I was going to die. That thing is intense.

I was feeling the burn…and a bit dorky.

Since the gym was so dead, I figured it was the perfect opportunity for me to test out the hydro-massage bed. I’m so glad I waited until the gym was dead because I clearly discovered a new tickle spot. Every time the “water” hit this spot I would giggle uncontrollably.

My view from the massage bed.

Monday

Our Memorial Day started with a nice french toast breakfast at my parents house. We then took Miss Boo to the airport as she had to be back in Pensacola by 8:00 tonight. It was sad having to say goodbye, but I’m hoping to be able to go to her graduation in just a couple short weeks.

My two favorite soldiers!

For lunch, the Boy and I went to Ikea. We both love their cafeteria. We didn’t love how crazy busy it was, but that was to be expected. After lunch, we walked around and picked up a Lack TV stand that he is going to “hack” into a standing desk for me! Eeh! 🙂 I can’t wait to share that with you guys.

And what Ikea trip is complete without a cinnamon bun?!

We ended up at the gym for a late-afternoon workout. I wanted to run and was planning on 3 or 4 miles, but once I passed 4 miles I was feeling good, and decided to go to 5. At 5, I was feeling great and decided to round it out at 6 miles! It felt awesome! And, I increased my run interval for my run/walk routine. AND, I had no IT band pain. Whoo!!

After a quick Publix trip, we came home to rest and watch a movie while we ate our dinner. I whipped up a smoothie and had a plate of steamed veggies.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Delight smoothie

What you’ll need

Directions

  • Combine all ingredients in blender and blend until smooth
  • Enjoy!

Our night ended with a late-night run to the airport to pick up my grandma.

And here’s something a little lighthearted for you…

Smokey loves this giant bear. It’s like his mom- he is always snuggling up with her.

Question of the day

Tell me how you spent your weekend

14 thoughts on “Recap of a busy and fun weekend and a new smoothie recipe

  1. awe. 🙂 I’m so glad that you had an awesome weekend with lots of family time. that’s so awesome that you got to see your sister 🙂 how proud of her you must be,!!!
    and that’s funny about the smores Frappuccino, I’ve been thinking about trying it lately but haven’t because it sounds too sweet to me also.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a fun weekend!! So nice you were able to spend time with your sister!

    I’ve always wanted to go to Texas Roadhouse. There aren’t many locations near me but I’ve heard great things (especially abut the roles! 🙂 )

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh yeah! The rolls live up to the legend. That is sad that you don’t have one around you.

      And thanks! Even though it was a short visit, it was definitely fun and we made the most of our time together.

      Like

Leave a Reply

