Weekend Recap

Happy Sunday!

I hope everyone has had a great weekend! I know I sure have!

Friday night

The Boy and I got Chinese take-out, and then had a nice living room picnic while watching Edge of Tomorrow. I’m not a huge Tom Cruise fan, but the movie was actually really good. It had a great story and awesome action sequences. And, Emily Blunt is kind of a beast!

Chine food picnic!
Chinese food picnic!
This can't be good! No fortune. :(
This can’t be good! No fortune. 😦
Luckily, they gave us three cookies so I was able to get at least some fortune.
Luckily, they gave us three cookies so I was able to get at least some fortune.

I was also super excited to see that I made the Marathon Blog Roll! Maddie introduced me to the idea, and I am super excited to connect with and learn from all of these fellow runner-bloggers! 🙂

Saturday

I woke up bright and early, so Amiee and I could head down tot he beach to get everything set up for the Beach Bridal Shower. The party was underway by 10:30. We made our way over to the beach, and laid out for just under two hours. We made sure to bring a canopy- which was nice for the shade.

Yeah, I could live here...
Yeah, I could live here…

Around 12:30 we headed back to the house to have lunch- salad and cubanitos from Publix; then Katelyn (bride-to-be) opened her gifts, and we played the classic toilet paper wedding dress game. Amiee and I were both a little unsure of adding this to the list of activities, but in the end we are SO happy we did because it was so much fun and absolutely hilarious.

Toilet paper wedding dress models
Toilet paper wedding dress models

An awesome cupcake-cake by Amire’s Sweet Creations! Almond, strawberry, and chocolate cupcakes. Yum!

Another awesome creation by Amire's Sweet Creations
Another awesome creation by Amire’s Sweet Creations

We also played a fun game that doesn’t really have name. I ordered a bunch of costume pearls from Amazon, and we passed out two strands to each. The object of the game is that no one can say a certain word (ours being “wedding”), and if someone is caught saying the word they have to give a strand of beads to the one that caught them. The person at the end with the most beads wins. We tallied up the beads after the toilet paper dress game, and the winner had 4 strands!

I was home by 4:30 which was nice becaus then I got to relax a bit before the Boy got home from work. For dinner we went over to my parents house. A vendor at work earlier this week dropped off a ton of fresh corn on the cob so I made sure to grab plenty to satisfy my family’s Mexican Corn fix. Mexican corn is probably like my favorite thing! You take a grilled/boiled corn on the cob, coat it in mayo (instead of butter), roll it in crumbled up queso fresco, and top it with a sprinkle of chile con limon. OMG! It will blow your socks off!

We also had burgers, but I was more into the corn. 😉

Getting the supplies ready
Getting the supplies ready
Mexican corn!
Mexican corn!

Sunday

I had big plans for my Sunday. I was going to lay out, get my nails done, do some reading, and then go to the gym. That didn’t work out, but I did make it to the gym.

It was a cloudy and rainy day. So that ruined my laying out plans.

I was feeling very lazy, so my nap got in the way of my nail plans.

We did make it to the gym though, and it was awesome! Since I wasn’t able to get in a run yesterday or Friday, I was itching for time on the treadmill. I was hoping to get in 4 miles, but ended with 5. Whoo! It felt so great! I did a 3:00/1:00 run/walk ratio, and ran at a faster pace than I normally do, and I had ZERO IT Band pain. Yes! Yes! Yes!

Treadmill running
Treadmill running

I really enjoy reading on the treadmill, and Oyster has been great for that! It’s like Netflix for books. I pay 10 bucks a month and have unlimited reading potential. It will be a lifesaver for this training cycle! I started Run by Dean Karnazes today, and so far it’s really good.

Once we arrived back home, I put a sweet potato in the oven and threw together a small smoothie to enjoy while it cooked.

What you’ll need to make this smoothie:

  • 1 handful baby spinach
  • 4-5 pieces frozen festival blend
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1/2 cup water

Directions

  • Blend all ingredients and enjoy.
A very small, yet tasty smoothie
A very small, yet tasty smoothie

And, for some randomness to end things on…

Are you tying your shoes properly?

https://embed-ssl.ted.com/talks/terry_moore_how_to_tie_your_shoes.html

Questions of the day

How was your weekend?

Tell me about your weekend run/race?

3 thoughts on “Weekend Recap

Leave a Reply

