Weekend recap

Happy Sunday and a big Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms out there…and especially mine!

Things have been great here this weekend. I really like weekends that just leave me feeling at peace Sunday night; it definitely helps me to feel better prepared to take on the week ahead.

Saturday

After checking in with you yesterday, the Boy and I hung around the house and just kind of lazily did computer work. We finally got ready, and left the house around 4:00. We had to go into Plant City to pickup a couple things I needed from the office, and then we stopped at Zaxby’s for a late lunch/early dinner. Zaxby’s is the Boy’s favorite, but he never gets it because neither of the two in our area are conveniently located (for us).

I wasn’t feeling a salad, so I went with the Nibblerz meal.

Nibblerz @ Zaxby's
Nibblerz @ Zaxby’s

Leaving Plant City, we took a different route back into town so that I could stop by the ONLY Walgreens in the area still developing film in-house. Yes, that’s right! I still have the camera I purchased on the cruise for our day at Nassau and catamaran tour. Click here for more pics from our excursion.

Our catamaran
Our catamaran

Walgreens was able to develop the film in an hour, so while we waited the Boy and I ran a couple errands.

On our way back to Walgreens, I wanted to stop at Ross for a quick peek; as I was pulling into park, the car directly next to mine looked a bit familiar. Upon closer inspection it turned out to be my parents car. This was very weird because this Ross is not convenient from either of our houses, and is also not even the closest Ross to either of us.

I tired on a handful of dresses and found two I wanted to purchase. Unfortunately the line that wrapped around almost the entire front of the store convinced me not to. 😉

We picked up the photos, and then stopped for ice cream. I’ve been hearing great things about Revolution Ice Cream and it was on the way. I opted for Blueberry Muffin Tops and boy was it yummy!

Blueberry Muffin Tops ice cream
Blueberry Muffin Tops ice cream
@ the Rev
@ the Rev

Next, we went into Barnes & Noble for some browsing. Both of us could just browse books for hours. 🙂 I didn’t get anything, but I will be ordering Yoga Girl. I flipped through it while we were there, and it looks really good.

One the way home from the bookstore, I really wanted to workout. It was going on 10:30 and I really just wanted to get in a good sweat session. Our Brandon gym (which is the one just minutes from our house) closes at 8:00 on the weekend, but my (Plant City) gym is 24/7. With my membership I can bring in a guest. So we did just that. It was awesome! The gym was dead.

This place was dead, and it was SO nice
This place was dead, and it was SO nice

I got in a great core workout, did some glutes, and then finished with 3 miles on the treadmill.

Working on my planks
Working on my planks
3 miles on the treadmill
3 miles on the treadmill

I don’t care about the treadmills at this gym- which makes me feel very fortunate that I’m able to have my choice of two gyms- so, I was pleased with my 3 miles. Actually! To be honest, I don’t think I had ever done more than a mile on these treadmills. It’s weird how different I found the treadmills here as opposed to YouFit; at YouFit I just get really comfy on the treadmill, and can run upwards of 9 miles there (and probably more).

We got home from the gym around 1:00, and were in bed within 30 minutes.

Sunday

We had reservations for an early Mother’s Day lunch at Mitchell’s Fish Market. This was our first time trying this restaurant out. The prices were on the high side but I thought the place was very nice, and the food was quite good.

We started with BBQ Bacon Shrimp.

BBQ Bacon Shrimp @ Mitchell's
BBQ Bacon Shrimp @ Mitchell’s

For my entree, I ordered Shang Hai salmon. It was served atop steamed spinach and sticky rice.

Shang Hai salmon @ Mitchell's
Shang Hai salmon @ Mitchell’s

Because my family is never all together in South Tampa, we HAD to hit up Xtreme Juice. On Sunday’s they do BOGO smoothies! I branched out from my usual and ordered the Super Sangria. Oh boy! It was yummy! The Boy (in all his dorkiness) said it tasted better than actual sangria. Hah! I wouldn’t go that far, but I would order it again.

Super Sangria @ Xtreme Juice
Super Sangria @ Xtreme Juice
My brother being a dork
My brother being a dork

The Boy and I then ran a few errands and before we knew it, it was time to eat. Since we had an early lunch, dinner was earlier than usual. We stopped at Panera where I devoured a Greek salad. I forgot to ask for no dressing, so that was sad. But, it was delicious and I ate every last bite of it (asides from the onions).

Greek salad @ Panera
Greek salad @ Panera

I finally had a chance to take the Boy by Mr. Penguin for gelati.

Rainbow vanilla gelati @ Mr. Penguin
Rainbow vanilla gelati @ Mr. Penguin

Then we came home and almost immediately crashed on the living room floor. I didn’t want to take a nap, but it was really nice.

I needed to use up some bananas tonight and decided I’d try a variation of Peanut Butter Finger’s Date Balls.

Here’s a fun fact: I don’t have the patience for cooking or baking or whatever. 😉

PB Finger’s recipe calls for walnuts. I used almonds. And, hers doesn’t include bananas. I added bananas to mine. Hers probably worked out a bit better. Mine were a pain in the bum…and are currently in a freezer/fridge rotation routine to see if they can become something worth eating. 😉

My fingers are crossed! If they end up working out, I will share my recipe Tuesday morning.

Question of the day

Tell me about your weekend recap

5 thoughts on “Weekend recap

  1. Sounds like you had a busy weekend.! but fun also.
    10:30 at the gym.? oh I would fall asleep. ha way to squeeze in a workout though. That is super awesome.
    and I’m the same way about cooking and baking, if it takes more than 15 min. ehh I don’t have the patience for it. lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

