Smoothie fail, solo running, and some galati yum

Good morning and happy Friday!

Where did the month of April go?!

Yesterday was a surprisingly great day!

For breakfast I had a super tasty, new-to-me KIND Bar- Cashew and Ginger Spice – . Yum! And, for lunch I had a Hook & Ladder salad from Firehouse Subs. I had never had a salad from there- I always just go for the subs. It was sooo good though!

Hook & Ladder salad from Firehouse.

After work, I headed over to downtown Tampa for my run. I had a great solo run! My shin was hurting a bit, but I ended feeling strong. I used the run/walk method and am proud to say that I caught myself a few times thinking the one-minute walk break seemed a bit long. I planned to do 3 miles, but ended with 3.62.

Also, this was my first time running while listening to my podcasts, and I LOVED it. Running frees my mind and the podcasts I’ve been listening to really stimulate my brain, so the creative juices were definitely flowing.

Gasparilla ship seen on today’s run (well… every run).

I treated myself to some gelati after the run, which was delicious at the time, but had me shivering for a good long while afterwards. I’m a BIG fan of Jeremiah’s Ice, but don’t like the almost 2 hour drive to the nearest one. A Mr. Penguin recently opened in Hyde Park; I’ve been wanting to go, and finally decided to make it happen. My strawberry lemon vanilla gelati was so yummy…but, I always get cold immediately after running, so the gelati probably wasn’t the best post-run.

Strawberry lemon gelati

Because I was full of smart ideas, I came home and whipped up a smoothie for dinner. I was already freezing, so what could it hurt, huh?! 😉

Well, I’ve got a new addition for the smoothie fail list. This one was actually pretty sad because I really don’t know what went wrong. 😦

I used the greens mix that I didn’t care for so much as my salad base. Maybe I should have included the strong overpowering flavor of pineapple for this first round. Anyways…

What you’ll need to NOT make this:

  • 1 banana
  • 4 pitted dates
  • 1 cup frozen berry medley
  • 1 1/2 large handfuls greens mix
  • 1 scoop chia seeds
  • 1 tablespoon wheat bran
  • 10 whole almonds
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1 cup cashew milk

Directions

  • Blend all ingredients and DO NOT enjoy instead pour it down drain.
Smoothie fail #3

This left me in a what’s-for-dinner pickle. I was craving sushi, but at 9:30 on a Thursday night it’s not the easiest thing to find.

Questions of the day

Tell me about your latest smoothie (or kitchen) fail.

Have you been craving anything more than usual lately?

How was your run today?

8 thoughts on “Smoothie fail, solo running, and some galati yum

  1. I don’t really make smoothies, but only 3 smoothie fails is pretty good.! I would have like everyday smoothie fails. haha.
    I’ve been craving salads and sandwiches lately. Basically all I’ve been eating.! So that salad looks really good.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. haha love this post! Especially the ‘fail’. Don’t get me wrong but yeah we usually speak about successful foodie creations. I also had a blueberry low carb pancake fail today. I mean I still ate them and they were pretty good but the recipe has to be rethought 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That salad looks really good.. I didn’t even know Firehouse had salads. I loooooove having something cold after a run… that gelati looks amazing!

    I’m not really a smoothie person. I think because I enjoy eating so much so I don’t really enjoy drinking a meal unless I’m really in a hurry and haven’t had breakfast. I typically have the same cravings all the time (cheesy foods, carbs, chick-fil-a). I haven’t run yet today but am looking forward to doing 4-5 miles after work as long as the rain holds off!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

