There are plenty more races

Good morning and happy Wednesday!

Well, I didn’t make it into the Chicago Marathon.

Better luck next time...
Better luck next time…

I’m not going to let it get me down though. I already have a lot going on this year (vacation, 2 weddings, Route 66…) so it would have been tight money-wise. And, it would have been just 5 short weeks before Route 66 making that TWO marathons in 5 weeks- that’s a lot!

But also, you know what? I now have the option to do a bunch of local races. AND! Devote all my energy into training for Route 66 and CRUSHING it!

Chicago is definitely on my bucket list; I will get there one day.

Yesterday was a nice day at work. It didn’t get too crazy and I feel like I got a lot done.

My coworker and friend (Kimmie) was in Plant City yesterday. It felt like I hadn’t seen her in forever. We made sure to set aside some time for a much-needed lunch date. We opted for Beef O’Brady’s. I wanted a salad, but ended up going with a grilled chicken wrap…and curly fries.

Grilled chicken wrap @ Beef's
Grilled chicken wrap @ Beef’s

It was good, but (I’m happy to say) not as good as one of MY salads. If only I would have had all my supplies on hand.

After work, I went running with one of my coworkers. She’s not a runner, so we’re starting slow. She also had somewhere to be at 6:00, so we were only able to get in a mile. I love seeing the run/walk method in action. When I stared with it, it didn’t feel like much of anything, but getting to see it first-hand in others. Getting to see it help them. It’s a really beautiful thing.

My view from yesterday's run.
My view from yesterday’s run.

P.S. This was my first run in my brand-spankin-new shoes. And they felt awesome! Like little clouds around my feet. I won’t officially give them the seal of approval until I complete a long(er) run with them.

After I got home, the Boy and I headed over to Costco for a much-needed supply run. I was out of almost all of my salad fixins. I got a new greens mix for my salad base, so hopefully it’ll work out well.

Before heading home, I ran into Publix because I was out of KIND bars and don’t care for the lack of variety in the variety box Costco offers.

I'm good now! And, they also had Quest Bar singles. I've been wanting to try those for awhile.
I’m good now! And, they also had Quest Bar singles. I’ve been wanting to try those for awhile.

I ended my night with some foam rolling, light core work, and a project for work I knew I would have zero time to devote to it today.

And, one last thing… I’d like to give a big HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY shoutout to my grandma!! Her birthday was yesterday, and I’m sure she partied the night away. 😉

Happy birthday Grandma! This is from my brother's graduation. Birthday-girl grandma is on the left, with my brother and my other grandma. 
Happy birthday Grandma! This is from my brother’s graduation. Birthday-girl grandma is on the left, with my brother and my other grandma.

Questions of the day

Anyone here running Chicago?

What races do you have coming up?

Favorite salad base?

10 thoughts on “There are plenty more races

  1. Darn.. too bad about Chicago. Guess the running gods wanted you to be especially focused on Route 66. 😉
    That wrap looks pretty darn good though.! I love wraps
    and I have a race coming up in 2 weeks. you probably already know that though.. lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

