Strange new smoothie and some deep thought on marathon training

Happy Sunday!

After a busy Saturday, a lazy Sunday was in order.

We did not do much of anything today. My Sunday included reading the paper, catching up on some of my favorite blogs and magazines, getting in a nice nap, a treadmill-run and leg-day at the gym. I just love leg day!

I did whip up a strange new smoothie combo for breakfast. I was actually a bit apprehensive to take that first sip convinced it was going to be too much. I was pleasantly surprised by how tasty it was!

What you’ll need

  • 2 handfuls baby spinach
  • 1 cup frozen pineapple
  • 4 pitted dates
  • 5 baby carrots
  • 1 1/2 handfuls cherry tomatoes
  • 7 whole almonds
  • 1 tsp bee pollen
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons wheat germ
  • 1 scoop chia seeds
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1 dash powdered ginger
  • 1 cup water

Directions

  • Combine all ingredients in blender and blend until smooth
  • Enjoy!
I was surprised by how tasty this was.
I was surprised by how tasty this was.

I listened to an awesome podcast this weekend by the Marathon Training Academy. This podcast featured Jeff Galloway discussing his popular run/walk method. This got me thinking…

The Boy and I ran Walt Disney World Marathon in January. We used a run/walk method both in training for and running the marathon. I was weary when selecting a training program because run/walking a marathon, I thought, wasn’t really “running” a marathon. I more so wanted to cross the finish-line injury free and that was my deciding factor.

During our training though, I had a friend that would always ask for updates on our progress, but would always question the number of miles I was able to run without stopping. It was hard to answer this question because I wasn’t training in a way to measure that. This friend, and a couple others would put down our training method, and would actually say stuff like, “that’s not really running a marathon”, or “you can’t walk in a marathon”. At the time this hurt to hear. I was putting in all this time and effort to train for something most people will never accomplish, and yet here my hardwork is being questioned.

Part of me sits here and thinks, “I don’t see you doing it”. But, that’s a negative way of looking at it. They are questioning it because they don’t know any better. This MTA podcast really gave some great insights into why the method works. Elites have used it. Galloway himself runs a sub 2:30 marathon using it. The run/walk method helps you train smarter, better, and run injury free at any ability level.

I use the run/walk method, and I AM A MARATHON RUNNER!

Questions of the day

How was your Sunday?

Are you a run/walker?

2 thoughts on “Strange new smoothie and some deep thought on marathon training

  1. That’s mean of that person.. I would have told them to go run a marathon without walking than, since they like to talk so much :p haha
    The run/walk method is VERY popular, especially among beginners and injury prone people.
    My sunday was really good.! lots of family and snuggle time 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

