Running with a buddy, a little shopping fun, and a berry swirl smoothie

Happy Saturday!

My Saturday has been great so far!

This morning my friend (Chris) and I went over to Weedon Island to check it out. I previously mentioned that RW featured it as the April Rave Run. It’s about a 25 minute ride from my house and was very easy to get to.

I have a hard time navigating trail maps, so we just kind of set out and started our run. We got in just over 2 miles, and while it was nice and the scenery was very pretty, it just didn’t seem worth it. It boasts miles of trails, but I think those miles (outside of the two we did) would be much closer to wildlife that I don’t want to get close to. 😉 We stuck to boardwalk trails and had a great time. But…I’ll be sticking to downtown Tampa as my go-to.

Entering boardwalk trail #1
Entering boardwalk trail #1
Looking out over the water.
Looking out over the water.
Boardwalk trail #2
Boardwalk trail #2
Weedon Island. So pretty!
Weedon Island. So pretty!
Sweaty post-run pic
Sweaty post-run pic

On the way back, we stopped at Starbucks for coffee and a quick breakfast. I had the spinach, feta, and egg-white wrap. It was tasty, but I think I’ll try something else next time.

Starbucks for breakfast. Yum!
Starbucks for breakfast. Yum!

Afterwards I did a few things around the house, I then headed back in to Tampa to do some shopping. I went to International Plaza to check out Fit2Run and Gap- didn’t find anything at either… unless you count my freebie running mags.

Love my freebie running mags!
Love my freebie running mags!

The highlight of going to International was seeing that not only are we getting an Athleta this summer, we are also getting a Lululemon. OMG! I just about screamed when I saw that. Holy workout clothes, Batman!

I then headed over to Westshore Plaza. Old Navy was having a great sale on activewear, but had nothing in my size. Sadness! Dick’s Sporting Goods had a great selection of shoes (compared to the Dick’s we have in Brandon). I fell in love with a pair of Brooks Glycerin 12’s! Since I’m about to start a new training cycle I’ve been thinking it’s time for a new pair of shoes. I was not however a fan of the price-tag… 150 bucks!! I decided to walk away so that I could think on it for a bit. I ended up running over to Sports Authority where I found the exact same shoes for 30 BUCKS CHEAPER!!!

Sold! 😉

New shoes! Brooks Glycerin 12
New shoes! Brooks Glycerin 12

I’ve also been in the market for a new hat. Neither Dick’s nor Sports Authority had anything I liked. I decided to run over to Feet First before making my way home. They had two hats I really liked. A deep purple Nike hat and a Brooks “Run Happy” hat. I love love loved the color of the Nike one, but the Brooks one looked better on my funny shaped head. Hah!

Run Happy!
Run Happy!

I also picked up a Carrot Cake Clif Bar while I was there. I’ve been wanting to try that flavor forever, but can never find it anywhere. I used to eat Clif Bars a lot, but I haven’t had one in a couple months and just didn’t seem to care about the flavor or texture of this one.

I was driving down Bayshore on my way home when it hit me… I wanted to run. I was still in my running clothes from this morning, so I went ahead and parked and hopped out for a quick run. It actually ended up being a bit more stair work than running, but it felt great!

I’m really getting excited to start marathon training in just a few short weeks!

When I arrived home, I threw together a smoothie to hold me over until the Boy and I can grab dinner.

Berry Swirl Smoothie

What you’ll need

  • 2 handfuls baby spinach
  • 2 handfuls frozen berry medley 
  • 4 pitted dates
  • 2 sprinkles of cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons wheat germ
  • 1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1/2 cup fat-free milk
  • 1/2 cup water

Directions

  • Combine all ingredients in blender and blend until smooth
  • Enjoy!
Berry Swirl Smoothie
Berry Swirl Smoothie

We’re puppy-sitting this weekend, so we’ll be spending plenty of time tonight with this little bundle of cuteness…

Smokey dog!
Smokey dog!

Questions of the day

Any new running gear lately?

What are your plans this weekend?

6 thoughts on “Running with a buddy, a little shopping fun, and a berry swirl smoothie

  1. I love running boardwalks!!!! No new running gear for me lately. I pretty much do bulk orders twice a year. And ohhhhh what pretty new Brooks you have lol 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

