WIAW, a fun and interesting run, and a dinner date

Hey hey hey! Happy Wednesday!

Happy What I Ate Wednesday!

Let’s kick things off with a WIAW recap…

I devoured a handful of milk chocolate and dark chocolate covered almonds for breakfast and a perfectly sweetened cup of coffee.

I made one of my tasty and delicious salads for lunch- and this time I even remembered my shrimp. Today’s salad included: romaine lettuce, baby spinach, cherry tomatoes, feta cheese, an apple, an avocado, chia seeds, croutons, crispy onions, shrimp, and mango salsa.

I spend about as much time preparing this beast, as I do eating it.
I spend about as much time preparing this beast, as I do eating it.

I had more chocolate covered almonds in the afternoon and a Coconut and Almond KIND bar after my run.

For dinner, there was an impromptu Crazy Cafe dinner date with Kat and Juan (it was their first time there!!). I had California roll to start and my usual veggie hibachi.

Sushi Party at table one!!!
Sushi Party at table one!!!
YUM! Veggie hibachi!
YUM! Veggie hibachi!

I also drank a ton of water today! Go me!

Now back to my Wednesday happenings…

It was a typical day at work; a good day and I was busy the whole way through. Unfortunately though, I am still dragging butt post-vacation. I need to snap out of this real quick! I can’t be yawning at 4:30 in the afternoon!

After work I went out for a run. It was awesome!

Well, you see…my plan was to wake up early this morning to go for a run. That of course fell through on account of me not being a morning person. I made sure to take my running clothes with me to work. As I pulled into the parking lot I realized I forgot my running watch at home. I’m sure we all remember how much that kills the mood for me. Later on in the day I also realized my running belt and running sunglasses were also at home. Oh boy!

My initial thought was to stop by the house on the way to downtown Tampa and pick up everything. Luckily I was smart enough to see right through that devious plan and knew that if I went home I would not leave. I decided to just go for a run from the office. I left the office and headed over to Walden Lake. I’ve never run there before but I have driven through and saw that they have a nice paved trail system. That worked out very well until I took a wrong turn and ended up doing an impromptu nice/scary trail run.

So, it turns out trail runs are not for me, at least not while I’m alone. Every noise that I heard in the bushes and trees made me jump. I almost got taken out by a giant turkey vulture. I’m far too clumsy to handle uneven terrain. And I’m not quite sure how this played out in my head, but I noticed I would slow my pace way down whenever I got into a scarier part of the trail. You’d think one would up the pace… Nope. Not me! 😉

I did have my iPod Nano on me, so I was able to track my run that way. 3.44 miles. Not too bad considering I was thinking I’d get in 2. 😉

And, on a side note…

Happy Earth Day!

It’s mean, but I live in FL…so it’s kind of funny. 😉

But seriously…

Questions of the day

What’s your WIAW?

Trail running: yay or nay?

Are you clumsy?

4 thoughts on “WIAW, a fun and interesting run, and a dinner date

  1. Yea trail running isn’t really for me either.. too much of an inconvenience. Drive out to the trails, and than I have to look down the whole time to make sure I don’t trip. I like the paved roads. I play it safe. I’m a square 😛 and hey, you remembered the little shrimp. They’re so cute. And yumm that sushi looks sooo good.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

