Weekend Recap

Happy Sunday!

This weekend has been a great, go-go-go kind of weekend. The Boy and I are now enjoying a lazy Sunday night watching some Big Bang Theory.

Here’s how we spent our long weekend…

Friday

We desperately needed supplies, so we hit up Costco early afternoon. For being around 3:00 on a Friday, I was surprised by how many sample stations they had- and good ones at that.

After arriving back home, I immediately threw together a salad. After eating not-so-healthily on the cruise, this salad sounded and tasted sooo good. This creation included: romaine lettuce, baby spinach, cherry tomatoes, an apple, avocado, feta cheese, croutons, and mango salsa.

A delicious salad...FINALLY!
A delicious salad…FINALLY!

My aunt and uncle came into town to spend the weekend at my parents house. I went over to my parents and we enjoyed a nice dinner, and then went down to the Riverwalk and had fun just catching up and walking around.

Saturday

Saturday kicked off earlier than I would have liked. I woke up around 8:00 and quickly got ready and whipped up a smoothie as I was heading out the door.

Chocolatey Green Smoothie

What you’ll need

  • 1 1/2 large handfuls baby spinach
  • 3 pitted dates
  • 1 cup festival blend frozen fruit
  • 1 scoop chia seeds
  • 1 serving chocolate protein powder
  • 1 cup water

Directions

  • Blend all ingredients and enjoy!
Chocolately Green Smoothie
Chocolatey Green Smoothie

My mom and I had plans to take my uncle and aunt to Topgolf. We had never been, and were surprised at how busy it was at 10:30. We had to wait about an hour for a “bay” to open up, so after we checked in, we headed up to the rooftop terrace and enjoyed some light appetizers and an intense game of giant Jenga while we waited.

Topgolf Tampa
Topgolf Tampa
Giant Jenga
Giant Jenga
Appetizers while we waited: tasty beer queso and spinach and artichoke flatbread in the background.
Appetizers while we waited: tasty beer queso and spinach and artichoke flatbread in the background.

Prior to this, the only golfing I had ever done was of the mini-variety. 😉 Golfing is hard! It also kind of hurts your wrists; although, my death grip around the club may have been to blame. It was definitely a lot of fun though!

After Topgolf, we took a drive down to Tampa to showoff Bayshore Blvd and Macdill Air Force Base, and did some quick browsing at Triage Consignment. I got a kick out of this…

Hah!
Hah!

By this time, we were all hungry, so we met up with my brother at the Brandon Hooters. My aunt had never been to a Hooters, so we felt it was definitely in order. 😉 The Boy doesn’t care for chicken wings, so I enjoy them whenever I can.

For dinner, we had reservations at Acropolis in Brandon. I really enjoy their food, but the loud atmosphere isn’t my favorite. They used to have an Artichoke Salad on the menu that I loved so much I would dream about it. It’s since been removed from the menu, so I went with the Roasted Veggie Salad and added artichoke. It was tasty but not as good as my former fave. I did however eat my body weight in Tzatsiki and pita bread. Yummmm!

Veggie salad.
Veggie salad.

There may have even been some dancing with the belly dancer…but those photos have been deleted. 😉

I’m not sure how we still had room after dinner, but we ended up over at Menchies for frozen yogurt. I just got a small serving, and opted for Carrot Orange Boost Sorbet.

Sunday

Sunday also kicked off pretty early. My parents, my aunt and uncle, and I took a nice drive over the Skyway Bridge, and then ended up in Lakewood Ranch for a delicious breakfast at the Country Pancake House. This place is awesome! But, there is no way you will ever leave hungry. Their servings (and menu) are ginormous. I didn’t eat nearly as much as I was hoping to (off my plate), but…I thought my stomach was going to explode so I knew I needed to throw in the towel.

Beautiful Skyway Bridge
Beautiful Skyway Bridge
Talk about filling...
Talk about filling…

After breakfast I headed home, and napped for much longer than I should have. And, that’s when lazy Sunday night commenced.

Question of the day

How did you spend your weekend?

3 thoughts on “Weekend Recap

  1. Busy busy weekend for you.! Doesn’t sound too lazy to me.
    I’ve never been to Hooters or golfing before.!! I have heard golfing is really hard though.
    My weekend just consisted of running, hanging out with the little one, and working. but I did go to my parents house on Sunday, so that was nice, and Malia enjoyed it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

