Some Sweet Beets, an overnight salad, and a scary trampoline

Good morning and happy Tuesday!

Yesterday was a great way to start the week! How was your Monday?

For breakfast I enjoyed a single cup of coffee followed by Suja Juice Sweet Beets. And…for a moment there, I almost forgot how much I do NOT like beets. I really want to! And, I know I should! There’s just something about the taste. It’s a really strong flavor…and I had this whole incident where beets and gum made a horribly disastrous combo and it kind of freaked me out. 😉 So yeah…beets? Not for me! The juice wasn’t horrible- I just won’t get that flavor again.

Suja's Sweet Beets
Suja’s Sweet Beets

I tried something new for lunch; I made my salad the night before. I wanted to try it this way to: 1) see if it would hold up, and 2) to not have to lug my briefcase of salad fixins to the office. I am pleased to report- even though it’s color was not as vibrant- it was still just as tasty! 🙂 This salad included:

  • Romaine lettuce
  • Cherry tomatoes
  • Apple
  • Orange
  • Grapes
  • Feta cheese
  • Chia seeds
  • Crispy onions
  • Croutons
  • Mango salsa
  • And, a sprinkling of pink salt
How it looked after making it...
How it looked after making it…
How it looked after its' overnight stay in the fridge
How it looked after its’ overnight stay in the fridge

Before I knew it, it was 5:00- don’t you just love it when that happens?! I went to change into my workout clothes as I had been looking forward to hitting up the gym and then heading over to my parents house to take Smoke out for a practice-run. Well…that’s when I realized I forgot my running shoes. 😦 Instead of rushing home to get them, I decided to take my time leaving the office and didn’t actually end up leaving until closer to 6:00. I came straight home, grabbed a bite to eat, and then enjoyed catching up on some research and blog reading while Friends played in the background.

I want to get back into yoga, so I spent some time finding some good at-home routines to test out. I found an awesome 30-day challenge that I can’t wait to start after the cruise (why not now, you ask… The cruise is in less than 30 days and well…let’s be realistic). Because it has been awhile, I thought what better way to start up again than with a nice 10-minute happy routine.

and yes, I know I am a graceful swan. P.S. the pics where my shirt was half-way over my head and my belly chunk was spilling over HAVE BEEN BURNED! ;)
And yes, I know I am a graceful swan. P.S. the pics where my shirt was half-way over my head and my belly chunk was spilling over HAVE BEEN BURNED! 😉

IMG_0232

IMG_0236

I scored this bad boy at work today!

It's so small and yet so scary.
It’s so small and yet so scary.

I was so excited to get it home to jump around. Jump. Jump. Jump around. (Sorry! I couldn’t help myself). But after getting it all setup, well…I’m kind of nervous now. I can be a bit irrational, paranoid, and all-around crazy at times and now I’m worried I’m going to plummet to my death.

Before rounding things out, I have a random favor to ask of you…

For those of you that may not know, I have my undergraduate degree in Marketing. I’m working on a little project about brands and the ways in which we (the consumer) interact with them.

So…I want to hear from you: is there a brand that makes you feel smarter/prettier/better/etc. when you use a product of theirs? For instance, a lady that swears by only wearing Chanel No.5 (perfume) on a first date because it makes her feel glamorous.

Or, is there a brand that you will never NOT use because it makes you feel safe/healthy/or it just feels right? For instance, you grew up with your mom only using Dawn dish soap and now you can’t picture not using that to clean dishes.

Feel free to leave your comments below, or you can always email me direct at: cupcakesandmiles@gmail.com.

Questions of the day

Do you like beets?

Do you make your lunches for work the night before?

2 thoughts on “Some Sweet Beets, an overnight salad, and a scary trampoline

Leave a Reply

