A salad that almost ended me, some Riverwalk fun, and an almost lazy Sunday

Happy Sunday!

I woke up today sure that it was going to be a lazy day. I mean, for gosh sakes we didn’t get out of bed until after noon!

But, that’s not how it played out…

First let’s take it back to last night. Last night I really wanted to go and check out the new Riverwalk addition. I wasn’t planning on making the Boy go with me, but as I was heading out he decided to tagalong anyway. He knew it was going to be dark by time I got out there, and he didn’t want me to be alone. Isn’t he sweet?!

Since the grand opening was just the day prior the Riverwalk was quite busy. In fact, for awhile I was the only runner out there with a good couple hundred people and so many adorable poochies out walking!! I ran 2.2 miles and then the Boy and I walked 1.67 miles. He didn’t run (on account of being retired and all 😉 ) so he just walked around taking pictures. The cool-down walk felt amazing, and it was nice just being able to spend some quality time with him.

Tampa Riverwalk
Tampa Riverwalk
Sykes building downtown Tampa.
Sykes building downtown Tampa.
Riverwalk
Riverwalk
Riverwalk and University of Tampa.
Riverwalk and University of Tampa.

On the way home from the run the only two things that sounded tasty to my grumbling tummy was a giant salad (like what I normally have for lunch) or a Wendy’s Frosty. I opted for what felt like the better choice. Last night’s salad included:

  • Romaine lettuce
  • Cherry tomatoes
  • Apple
  • Orange
  • Grapes
  • Feta cheese
  • Chia seeds
  • Crispy onions
  • Tuna packet (ranch flavored)
  • Avocado
  • Mango salsa
A dangerously tasty salad!
A dangerously tasty salad!

Unfortunately this turned out to be too much! I usually have a very similar salad for lunch almost every day but having the salad after 9:00 PM I guess is not wise for me because by time I got to the last couple of bites I was winded and I thought my belly was going to explode. I spent the rest of the night in a rather uncomfortable state and just all around not feeling too hot. Don’t get me wrong though, it was delicious! It’s just weird how it’s so good for lunch and keeps me full for the remainder of the workday, but almost killed me as a late dinner. 😉

Back to today…

We woke up pretty late; although, it did feel nice sleeping in. The Boy made us pancakes for breakfast, and then I straightened up a bit around the house before enjoying some reading. After a few minutes, I decided it would be nice to get my reading in while laying out at the community pool. I laid out for probably 30 to 40 minutes, and it was perfect because I was the only one there.

Lounging by the pool is so much better when you're the only one there!
Lounging by the pool is so much better when you’re the only one there!

The Boy and I then went over to IKEA for a late lunch and some quick browsing.

Carrot cake cupcake @ Ikea!
Carrot cake cupcake @ Ikea!

Afterwards, I made my way back over to my parents house to do some more practice running with Smokey, while the Boy went to the gym. On the way home I stopped at Target for a few necessities. I primarily went for trash bags because we were completely out and by completely I mean completely out! Do you have any idea how hard it is to juice when you realize mid-juicing that you are out of garbage bags?! Here’s a hint, it’s hard!!!

On the agenda for tonight, I have a few small projects to work on and then I have to get my work bag and lunch stuffs all packed up.

But first! I must figure out what’s for dinner…

Question of the day

Favorite thing you did this weekend?

4 thoughts on “A salad that almost ended me, some Riverwalk fun, and an almost lazy Sunday

  1. awe. a walk at night with your guy sounds so nice 🙂 and so does sitting by the pool and reading.!
    The best part of my weekend was going on a walk with my daughter. we sat by the ruver and threw rocks. It was nice 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Went to Target too this weekend! We could have totally passed each other and didn’t know! I’m the one with the 14 yr old “I’m so emabarrased in the Women’s section, Mom!” and the 7 year old “know it all” !! 🙂

    I was LAZY this weekend bc I didn’t have to go to a basketball tourney! It was NICE being a tad bit lazy!! Back at it today…

    Have a great Monday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

