Juice, smoothie, and a great way to spend my Sunday

Happy Sunday!

Oh gosh I was bad yesterday. Really bad! After checking in with you guys, I enjoyed some lunch- the remaining Hungry Howie’s salad from Friday night, and then did some computer work while catching up on Grey’s Anatomy and an abundance of Friends episodes.

For dinner I enjoyed a refreshing new juice recipe. I wasn’t expecting all of the ingredients to come together as well as they did.

What you’ll need

  • 1 handful carrots
  • 3 celery stalks
  • 1 large bunch organic kale
  • 3 plums
  • 2 oranges
  • 1 cucumber
  • 1 large handful spinach

Directions

  • Juice all ingredients
  • Pour through sifter to remove clumps
  • And, enjoy!
Juice makes me happy!
Juice makes me happy!

My plans for a Saturday afternoon run (and for that matter everything else I planned to do) fell through when I decided to call it as a lazy day.

I’ve been having a hard time getting back into a running schedule, and I think I finally just realized why. When I decided to train for my first marathon, I was planning on doing it solo. I asked the Boy if he wanted to join in kind of as a joke, and was shocked when he agreed. The Boy and I then spent almost two years running together, so now that he has “retired” from running I’m having a hard time getting back into this solo sport that became an us thing. I almost feel scared in some regard. We live in a small townhome community, I could run laps in our neighborhood but it’s hardly a half mile loop and well we all know how boring that can get. My other options are running around a large church compound which has zero traffic but is very hidden (hence creepy) or running alongside a very busy roadway.

I prefer to drive to downtown Tampa to get my runs in- it’s all sidewalk and is well populated. It’s just a good 15/20 minute drive and I just haven’t been feeling that.

After making dinner we sat down to enjoy our Saturday night Breaking Bad marathon. We had just a handful of episodes to get through to wrap up the series and we couldn’t wait to watch them. For those of you that have not watched the show…whoa… Mind. Blown.

We slept in a bit this morning and then enjoyed pancakes for breakfast. We had a visitor this morning too…

That guy was huge!
That guy was huge!

I spent a nice part of the day lounging poolside at my friend Annie’s house.

Lunch spread at Annie's
Lunch spread at Annie’s
Lunch part 1
Lunch part 1

I was there for almost four hours, but then came home so the Boy and I could make a grocery run. On the way home from groceries I was itching for a run. I asked the Boy if he might want to go down to Bayshore with me to hangout while I run. He said yes… because he’s the best! 🙂 It was just a quick 3.07 miles and it felt so good!

View from my parking spot downtown Tampa. ;)
View from my parking spot downtown Tampa. 😉

When we got home I whipped up a refreshing watermelon smoothie recipe courtesy of Peanut Butter Fingers. It was great and tasted like summer in a glass!

Watermelon Smoothie

What you’ll need

  • 1 1/2 cup seedless watermelon chunks
  • 3/4 cup frozen pineapple
  • 1/4 cup pineapple coconut water
  • 5 fresh mint leaves

Directions

  • Combine all ingredients in blender and blend until smooth
  • Garnish with additional mint leaves and enjoy
Watermelon Smoothie
Watermelon Smoothie

Have a great night!

Question of the day

How did you spend your Sunday?

2 thoughts on “Juice, smoothie, and a great way to spend my Sunday

  1. Watermelon smoothie sounds ammazing.!! and sounds like you need to find yourself some running buddies or a running group.! I’m sure that would help motivate you to get out and run 🙂
    I have the same problem where I live also, I have to do a ton of loops just to get my runs in. I think my town is only 1 mile wide.. so it can get boring, but somehow Ive managed.
    My weekends was just work and running. but tried to get as much time with my daughter when I could

    Like

Leave a Reply

