Does carrot cake count as a veggie and Netflix is a monster-creating machine

Good morning and happy Wednesday!

Yesterday was a great day! I can’t believe it’s already Wednesday- this week is just flying by.

I opted to skip my breakfast juice because I had a doctor’s appointment first thing in the morning and didn’t want it just sitting. When I got to the office, I made some toast with honey butter. Not the best choice, but I do love that new butter.

For lunch I had a Southwestern Chicken Flatbread from Panera and a large bowl of fruit. And certainly nothing else! Certainly not a carrot cake cupcake!

Today’s fruit bowl consisted of the normal apples, clementines, strawberries, and tomatoes; I also added in grapes and blackberries. It wasn’t as large of a bowl as I’ve been having since I got a little something from Panera.

It's fruit! Fruit for lunch! Apples, clementines, strawberries, blackberries, & tomatoes.
It’s fruit! Fruit for lunch! Apples, clementines, strawberries, blackberries, grapes, & tomatoes.

The girls in the office find it so weird that I’ve been putting tomatoes in with my fruit. Is that weird? It is technically a fruit, and they’re delicious, so why is it weird?!

I went straight home after work, and then did some research on the computer while watching Friends. Netflix is dangerous; it’s always creating new monsters in me!

For dinner, I had a salad. This was not just any salad, oh no! This salad was like the tastiest salad in all the lands topped with magic. Ooh! It was good! Romaine lettuce, starfruit (not a fan of the starfruit), tomatoes, feta cheese, strawberries, avocado, spinach, croutons, chia seeds, and Costco’s mango salsa. As I was making it, I was a bit worried that all the different ingredients wouldn’t come together well. And yet, in the end they did!

I didn't plan for this to look so Christmas-y... Romaine and spinach salad topped with feta cheese, strawberries, avocado, starfruit, croutons, chia seeds, and mango salsa.
I didn’t plan for this to look so Christmas-y… Romaine and spinach salad topped with feta cheese, strawberries, avocado, starfruit, croutons, chia seeds, and mango salsa.

After dinner the Boy and I ended our night with some intense Breaking Bad episodes. It’s funny, we both really love the show, but cannot wait to finish it because of just how intense it gets. Thinking about it, it’s actually silly, but when an episode finishes we have to remind ourselves to breathe because we are usually just too stunned to think, move, or even breathe. 😉 Have you ever watched a show that made you feel like that?

I’ll be working out of the office tomorrow as I am going with mom to a doctor’s appt. It’s a new doctor located in Winter Haven, which is about 45 minutes away. Mom has Rheumatoid Arthritis pretty bad, and late last year started developing a new symptom in which her hand just constantly tingles and she has this burning pain that stays in her fingers all the time, but will shoot up her arm when it flares. 😦 Her doctor referred her to a Neurologist back in November, after she was finally able to secure an appointment (mind you, 3 months in the future) she received a letter not too long ago that they needed to cancel the appointment.

One of my coworkers referred us to her neurologist, who was able to schedule my mom right away. I’m hoping we’ll be able to leave tomorrow with some answers.

My mom is a trooper and the strongest woman I know. She’s been dealing with (RA) pain for so long that it doesn’t even seem to phase her anymore, she’s become numb to it in a way, so when she complains about pain (what she’s experiencing in her hand), it’s kind of scary because that goes to show just how much pain she’s in.

So, here’s hoping for the best…

From left: Bubba, mom, and my "brother" Kris.
From left: Bubba, mom, and my “brother” Kris.

Questions of the day

What did you have to eat yesterday?

Any sweets?

Who’s your hero?

7 thoughts on “Does carrot cake count as a veggie and Netflix is a monster-creating machine

  1. Tomatoes with fruit is a little weird.. lol
    and sorry to hear about your mom, that’s good she got another appointment rescheduled so fast though.! My hearo is defnietly my mom also 🙂 She’s made me who I am

    and mango salsa sounds ammazing.!! Love the colorfulness

    Like

  2. I think tomatoes with fruit are fine. After all, we have salads with blueberries or strawberries!

    Good luck with your mom. Rheumatoid arthritis is the worst.

    (Blushing) I had vanilla bean ice cream, melted peanut butter, and chocolate sauce for dinner last night. Yum yum!! I also ran! LOL

    Like

  3. Hope your Mom found sucess with her new Neurologist!
    I ate good yesterday…until I got home! My weakness….? Chinese food! Came in late from my oldest’s basketball practice in Lakeland (I live about 30 min away in Valrico) and I was POOPED! So..I surrended to the Pork Fried Rice…yep…I DID!!

    I don’t “kill” myself anymore when I do this because I have changed so much in my diet since January. So..I actually ENJOYED the food! (Go figure!!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

