Oh Florida how I despise thee this time of year and some juicing-prep fun

Good morning and happy Monday!

Pollen. It’s in the air. And, I swear, my nose is running a marathon…and running it much faster than I would. Oh boy! I take an OTC allergy pill everyday, but usually around this time of the year I upgrade to the intense stuff (you know, the stuff with name’s that end with “D”…the stuff you have to show your driver’s license to purchase…yeah, that stuff). The box says to only take for 7 days…I accidentally took it for 20. And, for the last 4 days have been back on my normal stuff. Well…yesterday felt like death, so I bought some Flonase and am hoping it will make me feel at least 60% of my normal ME.

We went to dinner the other night with my parents. My mom picked Ruby Tuesday’s…not my first choice, but it actually was rather good. I opted for spicy fish tacos and the salad bar. And, yeah I probably would order them again.

I totally won the who-has-the-biggest-salad game!
I totally won the who-has-the-biggest-salad game!
Spicy Fish Tacos courtesy of Ruby Tuesday's
Spicy Fish Tacos courtesy of Ruby Tuesday’s

Sunday was filled with lots of shopping. After breakfast we headed over to the produce stand, and the grocery store. I got lots of healthy goodness: apples, clementines, kale, cucumbers, celery, lemons, limes, starfish fruit, kiwis, avocados, strawberries, plums, and nuts. 🙂

The Boy spends most of his Sunday making turkey jerky, so I ran over to the mall after lunch. I’ve been wanting to order these, but wanted to first get a feel for their sizing before doing so. I’m glad I did because I would have ordered a size too big. They’ll be here on Tuesday. Yay!

I also wanted to look for a new bathing suit and some cute clothes for the cruise. You’d think living in Florida I’d be set…wrong! 😦 I’m very picky when it comes to swimwear (and also cheap), so it makes the whole shopping process that much harder. Needless to say, I did not purchase a new bathing suit today.

Did you remember Daylight Savings this weekend?! I thought I did. It wasn’t until right at 6:00 Sunday night when the loudspeaker came on and announced that the mall was closing that I realized I forgot to set my watch. Whoops! And yes, I was on the opposite end of the mall from where I parked.

I took things easy with dinner Sunday, and opted for a sweet potato. After which, I did some dishes and got my juicer all setup and ready to go for this morning.

"I'm so happy to be out of the box" -Breville the Juicer
“I’m so happy to be back out of the box” -Breville the Juicer

I’m gonna give that a try again, and am hoping for the best. I gave up juicing last year for two reasons: 1) the clean-up was such a pain, and 2) the clumps of veggies/fruit that don’t get pulverized enough (this really freaks me out). I’ve got my fingers crossed this time (and a little secret weapon that I’ll share with you tomorrow).

Questions of the day

How was the rest of your weekend?

Do you enjoy shopping?

Do you juice?

6 thoughts on “Oh Florida how I despise thee this time of year and some juicing-prep fun

  1. I love shopping, but I am the same way, I don’t like to spend too much money on myself, and I want it to fit justt right, but I think thats part of the fun of shopping.finding the perfect item.lol
    and interesting, I like that you wrote the things you DIDN”T like about juicing..I hear soo much good things about it, but there’s gotta be some negatives. The clean up does sound like it would be a pain.!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I want a juicer, but am too CHEAP to invest in one!! I saw that the Kitchen Aid has an attachment…
    something to think about!

    I am considering adding this to my regiment after watching “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead” (1 and 2)…

    Love the blog!! I am a FL girl too and this time of year is NOT my favorite!!!

    Like

    • Aw thanks! That means a lot! 🙂 It took me a while before I finally decided to spend the money on a juicer. I’m glad I did, but geez…sometimes I just wish it were simpler. I love “Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead”, but I haven’t seen the second one (adding it to my list now). And, I think I saw on your blog you’re a Tampa girl too, right…?

      Thanks for reading! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

