Rest in peace my sweet boy

Hayman Alan Boyer
Hayman Alan Boyer

Things have been off with me the last couple weeks, and for good reason. My parents told me the evening of Monday Feb. 9th that we would be putting our dog- Hayman- down on the 16th. This in itself was hard to hear and hard to deal with, what made it even worse was the fact that we decided not to tell my baby sister until my parents could do it in person.

Boo is stationed in Pensacola doing her post-basic training for the Navy, and it’s a very crucial time that we didn’t want to risk her losing her focus, and even more we didn’t want her to have to go through this without us there to support her.

I don’t like keeping secrets, but this I had to do for my baby sister. I just hate that she wasn’t here to say goodbye.

My parents drove up to Pensacola yesterday, and told Boo today. She took the news hard- as to be expected, but understands that is was best for him.

Hayman
Hayman

Hayman was a great dog; he was our family’s first dog. My dad’s best friend, and my big brother. A german shepherd/golden retriever that looked like a beautiful black lab. Smart, protective, gentle, loyal.

I did all that could to spoil him his last week here with us- he went on solo walks, had ice cream and frozen yogurt, cheeseburgers, steak dinners, and even candy.

Hayman
Hayman

I couldn’t bring myself to go that day, but my dad was there petting him until he took his last breath. Before he left us, he asked me to help him write a letter to our baby sister, and here is what he wrote:

Dear Baby,

While I may be gone, I don’t want you to be sad. Always know that I’ll be watching over you. You’re my little sister; I protected you every day of my life and I will continue to do so.

I had such a great life, and have so many memories to carry on with me. I will always remember how afraid you were when I first came home, and how much fun we shared running up and down the hill in our Colorado backyard.

Don’t be upset with mom and dad for not telling you sooner; I asked them to wait and tell you in person. I know how hard you’ve been working, and I didn’t want to see you lose focus because of me. I’ve gone to a better place, where I will no longer feel any pain. I know that it will be tough for you to understand at first and I didn’t want you to be alone.

Everyone took real good care of me my last week here and spoiled me lots. I got a ton of ice cream, steak, burgers, popcorn, and even some candy. Don’t tell Smokey!

I hope you know, you were the best little sister and I couldn’t have asked for a better family to share my life with. Thank you for always petting me, giving me lots of hugs, and for letting me sleep in your bed.

It’s time for me to go. I love you and I always will.

Your big brother,

Hayman

Hayman- Feb 2015
Hayman- Feb 2015
Hayman as just a pup
Hayman as just a pup

Rest in peace my sweet boy. We love you!

Hayman and Smokey
Hayman and Smokey
Hayman
Hayman
Hayman and me
Hayman and me

One thought on “Rest in peace my sweet boy

Leave a Reply

