Gasparilla 5k recap and a very berry smoothie

Today has just been a truly great day!

It started with a yummy very berry smoothie…

What you’ll need

  • 1 banana
  • 1 large handful baby spinach
  • ½ cup Kirkland’s Three Berries frozen berries
  • 1 scoop chia seeds
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1/2 cup water

Directions

  • Blend all ingredients and enjoy!
Very Berry Smoothie
Very Berry Smoothie

My brother, his girlfriend, and I ran in the Gasparilla 5k this morning. The race itself was well coordinated, but I do feel the waves should have been spaced out just a bit more.

About to make our way to corral
About to make our way to corral

I initially set out to use this race as the first race in which I would start to focus on my time goal. With the weeks leading up to the race I’ve had some things going on, so my training has really fallen by the wayside; this morning I had kind of given up on my goal of 30 minutes. However, once I started running, I felt really strong and immediately assigned myself a goal of no walking. Well…I didn’t come in at 30 minutes- 33:52 in fact- but I did NOT walk. I’m quite proud of myself.

Gasparilla 5k finishers: (from left) Megan, Bubba, and me.
Gasparilla 5k finishers: (from left) Megan, Bubba, and me.
Bubba and I
Bubba and I

After the run we went to Outback for lunch. I don’t know what it is, but they have the best sweet potatoes, and it makes me so happy.

The Boy and I finished up our day with a late afternoon nap, an easy gym workout, and some crazy intense episodes of season 2 Breaking Bad. We’re only on season 2 (of 5) and…ohmigosh…I swear I sit there holding my breath, it gets so intense.

Oh, and some randomness to round things out…

I saw this on Instagram today. First of all, how have I never heard this quote before?! And second, um…YES!!! 🙂

"And though she be but little, she is fierce." -Shakespeare. <3 it!
“And though she be but little, she is fierce.” -Shakespeare.

Questions of the day

What’s running goal(s) are you working towards?

What’s your favorite thing to order at Outback?

Anyone else watch/watching Breaking Bad?

4 thoughts on “Gasparilla 5k recap and a very berry smoothie

  1. Congrats to you all on the 5k. Jealous that you are running in shorts and dry pavement. We still have a lot of snow and below freezing temps. I just started running again. My goal is to run the Bix7 with the family for Peter’s 18th birthday. My goal is 7 miles within 1 hour 15.

    Like

Leave a Reply

