What’s next and a new smoothie for you

Happy Valentine’s Day!

I woke up the other day to a text from my uncle asking when our next marathon is going to be. My uncle and his girlfriend ran the Disney Marathon with us. Even though the Boy has long since retired from his running days, I am totally game for running another with them. I have the Gasparilla 5K coming up on the 21st, and- must admit- have not been doing a very good job of training. But, I’m ready for my next Marathon goal!

Me after finishing the WDW Marathon 2015
Me after finishing the WDW Marathon 2015

Before the Disney Marathon, I decided I wanted to run the 2016 Nike Women’s Marathon in San Francisco. This race sounded utterly glorious- the beautiful landscape, the winding hilly roads, and…the tuxedo clad firemen than greet you at the finish line NOT with a finisher’s medal. No ma’am! a finishers Tiffany’s necklace! Umm… What?! Sign me up!

Well…that was until my dreams were crushed when a friend looked into the race and realized the finish line is no longer adorned with firemen. I guess they discontinued that bit of awesomeness circa 2013ish. So, it no longer seems that exciting. 😉 But, my uncle’s text got me thinking…what’s next? Check back soon for my top ten list of dream marathons.

Earlier this week I talked about the competitive position Boo was going up for. She didn’t get it, but I am even more proud of her for how she handled it and for keeping her head up. Initially there were three up for the job; it eventually came down to Boo and a boy from her class. The Petty Officer explained to them that they were both perfect for the job. He had shown their PT scores and essays to a few of his colleagues and everyone was split among who should get it. He told them they would both excel at the position, but only one could get it. He asked each of them why they should get it, and in the end gave the job to Boo’s classmate. He explained to Boo how strong of a leader he sees her, and he talked about the various roles he sees her excelling in and helping others in (that’s her main goal- to help others).

I was really worried when my mom texted me that Boo didn’t get the job. I was sure she was going to be upset. But, she surprised me and didn’t let it get her down. Instead she trusts the advice given to her and took what the Petty Officer said in stride. I really can’t wait to see all the amazing things this girl achieves!

I think it’s time for a smoothie…

Double Up Smoothie

What you’ll need

  • 2 bananas
  • 1 small handful baby spinach
  • 1 scoop chia seeds
  • 1 Dannon Light & Fit peach Greek yogurt
  • 1 Noosa raspberry yoghurt
  • 1/4 cup water

Directions

  • Blend all ingredients and enjoy!
I couldn't find a straw and had to improvise. Hehe!
I couldn’t find a straw and had to improvise. Hehe!

Note: I have been freezing my yogurt to keep it fresh past its date, and to ensure my smoothie is cold cold cold. But I learned I cannot just take the frozen yogurts out of the freezer straight to the smoothie cup. They need time to soften. I’m going to try moving them from the freezer to the fridge the day I intend to use them.

Well, I’m off to get ready for girls day at the movies… Fifty Shades of Grey 🙂

Questions of the day

What are your plans for Valentine’s?

Do you have a dream marathon in mind?

What are your plans for the weekend?

Leave a Reply

