Tasty new smoothie and a proud big sister

Good morning and happy Monday!

I hope everyone had a great weekend. I wasn’t feeling very well yesterday, so I did a whole lot of nothing. No complaints here though. 🙂 For lunch yesterday I whipped up a new smoothie and was surprised at how well the ingredients worked together.

Green Monster Smoothie

What you’ll need

  • 1 banana
  • 1 large handful baby spinach
  • 1 large chunk frozen pineapple
  • 1 frozen clementine
  • 1-2 large pieces mint (frozen or fresh)
  • 1 small handful walnut pieces
  • 1 serving Dannon Light & Fit blueberry greek yogurt
  • 1 pouch Happy Squeeze fruit & veggie twist
  • 1/2 cup water

Directions

Blend all ingredients and enjoy!

Source: Cupcakes & Miles
Source: Cupcakes & Miles

I’ve mentioned before that my baby sister (I call her Boo) is in the Navy. She graduated Basic Training beginning of January and is now doing her job training in Pensacola. She called me last night to tell me that she and two others are going up for a very competitive job that a spot just opened for. There’s only one spot open, so her instructor is basing the selection on PT results and a short essay. She called to read me her essay and to get my thoughts on it. Listening to her read her essay, it took me back to 18 years ago when she came into our lives. Her essay sounded great and it’s so amazing to hear this little baby that I practically helped raise sound like such an upstanding adult with such a strong future ahead of her.

Growing up, dad was in the Army Special Forces and had to miss a lot because he was often overseas. Boo and I are 9 years apart, so I helped mom out a lot when dad wasn’t able to be there. Mom used to call me Boo’s second mom. 🙂 The day Boo left for Basic was very hard for me. But, hearing her read her essay, it showed me another side of her. I don’t think I’ve ever been more proud of her. We’ll find out today if she gets the job. My fingers are crossed for you Miss Boo.

My  baby sister was Recruit Chief Petty Officer (RPOC) at Basic. She's in the center behind the line of drums
My baby sister was Recruit Chief Petty Officer (RPOC) at Basic. She’s in the center behind the line of drums

And a little randomness to round things out

Maybe it’s just me, but I am totally loving Taylor Swift’s Grammys look

Source: MTV

Question of the day

How many siblings do you have?

I have a younger brother and a baby sister

Who’s Grammy look did you love most?

Leave a Reply

