Lemon Berry Smoothie and Birthday Festivities Recap

Good morning! Happy Tuesday! Who’s ready to bring on the day?!

So yesterday was dad’s birthday; we went to his favorite place-East Coast Pizza. Afterwards, we went back to my parents house for cupcakes!!! 🙂 My brother comes walking in with two (not very nice) balloons (think “queen for the day”), party horns, and St. Patrick’s day tiny hats(?). Now…my dad is retired Army Special Forces, so…he is always ready to party ;-). Not! My baby dog Smokey is quite the model and had no issues with us putting a hat on him-that’s to be expected though. It was a bit of a shock when he not only accepted the party horn but then continued to carry it around in his mouth. He is such a party animal!

Smokey is ready to party!
Smokey is ready to party!

We opted to go with cupcakes instead of cake because there is a long-standing chocolate cake vs. white cake feud in my family. My dad (well, actually all of the boys for that matter) got Oreo cupcakes. I got a giant carrot cake cupcake that I’m pretty sure was about the size of my head. Please do not ask me if I ate it all! This cupcake would have been the best thing in the world had it not have had raisins. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy raisins, but when you put them in carrot cake they make me sad.

Carrot Cake Cupcake courtesy of Moreno's Bakery
Carrot Cake Cupcake courtesy of Moreno’s Bakery

We ended the night over at Kohl’s where I found a few new pieces of work clothes and a fancy new scale- I’ll do a full review on the scale once I figure out how to work it. 😉

I woke up much earlier than normal today, and made a delicious lemon berry smoothie.

Lemon Berry Smoothie

Lemon Berry Smoothie and Yoplait Lemon
Lemon Berry Smoothie and Yoplait Lemon

What you’ll need one:

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 large handful baby spinach
  • about 1/4 cup frozen blueberries
  • half a scoop Chia seeds
  • 1 teaspoon wheat germ
  • half a scoop vanilla protein powder
  • a few small pieces fresh mint
  • one lemon Yoplait Greek yogurt
  • half cup water

Directions

  •  blend all ingredients and enjoy!
Lemon Berry Smoothie
Lemon Berry Smoothie

Well, I’m off to work. I’ll check in with you later!

Question of the day

Anyone else have a puppy that likes to model with props?

Leave a Reply

