Smoothie Fail

Happy Monday and MLK Jr. Day to you!

I thought I’d try a new smoothie recipe this morning. Years ago when I first started making smoothies I would see recipe after recipe using a packet of jello mix as the base- I never got around to trying it, until this morning. Here’s a tip for you DON’T! 😉 The jello base left it very grainy and that (mixed with the packet of stevia I threw in) made it way too sweet.

For sticks and giggles I figure I’ll share with you the recipe, so you can add it to a DO NOT MAKE list…

Smoothie Fail
Smoothie Fail

What you’ll need to NOT make this:

  • 1 banana
  • 6 frozen strawberries
  • 1 large handful baby spinach
  • 1 packet of sugar-free strawberry jello mix
  • 1 packet Stevia
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • 1 tablespoon walnut pieces
  • 1 tablespoon toasted wheat germ
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1/2 cup water

Directions

  • Blend all ingredients and DO NOT enjoy instead pour it down drain.

So yes, I will not be making this again. At the moment I am trying to determine if it can be salvaged- we shall see later if I am able to.

It’s my dad’s birthday today! YAY! I have lots to do before we meet up with the family for dinner and cake (or cupcakes). I’ll check in with you later. Have a great day!

My dad and I. This picture was taken a "few" years ago, but I just love it.
My dad and I. This picture was taken a “few” years ago, but I just love it.

Questions of the day

Do you have any smoothie fails to add to the list?

Anyone else celebrating a birthday today? If so, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

2 thoughts on “Smoothie Fail

    • Yes, please do! 🙂 I wish I could remember where I first saw it; it was when I first started making smoothies (summer 2012). I vaguely remember the article mentioning how versatile yogurt and instant jello packets were when added to smoothies (not used simultaneously). Adding a cup of yogurt to a smoothie totally works; jello not so much. Thanks for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

