Training for the Marathon

I wanted to spend some time talking about how I trained for the Marathon

I never thought I’d run a marathon. I’m not very athletic. And 26.2 miles is a lot of miles. It was September 2013; I was casually talking to one of my coworkers when she mentioned, “let’s run a marathon”. After about 3.5 minutes of laughter, I said (sarcastically) “Oh. Okay.”

Later that night, the idea crept back in… “could I?”

Source: The Homemade Apples

I decided it had been far too long since I gave myself a goal to fight for, and this would be just that. It was an even bigger surprise when the Boy decided to run as well. And, that was it…as of Fall 2013 we were officially training to run a marathon, or so I thought…

I researched a handful of training programs, but they were all designed to take place someone in the neighborhood of over 18 weeks. The marathon was well over a year away, but I had never done one…how would 18 weeks be enough?! (note to self: it would have!) At that point I sort of concocted my own training program. I thought it was brilliant! We were going to increase our mileage by three miles every four weeks (hence weeks 1, 2, 3, and 4 would work towards getting us to 3 miles; weeks 5, 6, 7, 8 would work towards getting us to 6 miles, and so on). We quickly realized this was NOT the plan for us- I blame an immense amount of shin pain on that. L After about 3 months and a max run of 7 miles, I postponed our training.

I then spent a lot of time researching (actual) training programs, and decided on Hal Higdon’s Novice Supreme. We began the 30-week training program in June 2014; incorporating a variation of Jeff Galloway’s run/walk intervals. We started out with a 3:1 ratio, and while I wish we had increased the run rate, I do stand by this method as promoting an injury-free experience.

Looking back, the most memorable run was a nice 4-miler over Christmas break 2013 while we were visiting the Boy’s family in Pennsylvania. It was around 24 degrees out with a light snow on the ground. It was perfect! Everything about it was perfect! It was cold and I couldn’t feel my fingers, but it was one of the happiest moments of my life.

Question of the day

What’s your most memorable run/workout/experience?

Leave a Reply

